Sunny days in Iqaluit


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nunavut » Iqaluit
July 24th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our baby, DianaOur baby, DianaOur baby, Diana

it's been almost 21 years since we lost Diana and the native flowers are growing on top of her grave now, there are dwarf fireweed, snow saxifrage and beautiful grasses so far.
Hello there,

I hope everyone is having as nice as summer as we are here in Iqaluit. Since arriving on June 21st I can actually count the days on one hand that have been rainy or cloudy. The temperature today is supposed to get up to 23 C yet again. Michael is travelling for 10 days with 3 other co-workers. They are travelling down south this time. They will be in N.B., Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario and then back to Nunavut. I really miss Michael and am looking forward to his return next week. In the meantime I have been getting out for walks in the evening. My new walking buddy, Denise and I ventured out a couple of nights ago and we were rewarded with a very strong wind which kept most of the mosquitoes away, although I still managed to get a couple of bites. They seem to like my blood for some reason :-P. There were a tremendous number of different flowers in full bloom, from arctic heather, dwarf fireweed to arctic cotton and we both picked some for drying. We walked up one of the hills and were met with a fantastic view of the landscape, city and ocean. I can never get enough of the absolute beauty of the land and sea up here. I truly feel so blessed to be able to experience this year after year. I hope that the pictures that I am sharing on this blog give you a little glimpse of the awesomeness of the northern part of Canada. Until next time take care and God bless.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

one of the sealift ships one of the sealift ships
one of the sealift ships

this is the view from our dining-room window
another view of the city with the airstrip in the foregroundanother view of the city with the airstrip in the foreground
another view of the city with the airstrip in the foreground

note the Canadian Forces Herc in the picture landed in Iqaluit to refuel, I believe it was involved in the search for the helicopter that went down in Northern Quebec last friday, unfortunately both men died in the crash.


27th July 2009

Hello Marjorie
Thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures. It appears you are having another wonderful summer. Be well friend. Hugs...Julie
28th July 2009

Lovely Pics
The boys and I LOVE the pics mom. Thanks for sharing them. It is healing to see a picture of Diana's grave as well. Keep the pics and blog coming. We love it!
30th July 2009

thank you for your comment Veronica, I am glad the boys are enjoying the blog too. Dad and I are going to be painting the cross once the mosquitoes are gone and I think I will trim the grasses back abit too! Take care. I love you. Mom
30th July 2009

I didn't realize that Diana's grave was up there, I see why there is such a strong pull there...as well as the beauty of the land of course. it really is breathtaking there from what I see.
7th August 2009

The pictures are lovely. John's brother and sister have both been up there to work at different times and loved the country.

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb