On the...plane again


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » YVR
September 16th 2011
Published: September 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was pretty much just a travel day. A travel day on about 2 hours sleep. Sleep was way too difficult last night. Not sure why. Probably the insane timezone changes!

I headed straight to the airport today on the Skytrain again. I really don't know how those things work. They appear not to have a driver - it might be magic. Confusing, but very convenient.

I really didn't know what to expect flying domestically in North America. It was a bit more super serious than domestic travel at home. I got to the airport with about an hour and a half before my flight. After checking in, I approached security screening. The first thing I noticed that was different was that you have to show photo ID at every stage (check in, security, and boarding gate).

At security you have to stand on this rubber pad on the ground. You can't just queue at any line either. Someone marshals you to a free line. Then you get all your bits and pieces together (computer out, liquids in small bag etc etc - the same as home). Sometimes they randomly swab your bag for explosive residue (which seems to always happen to me even at home!). You have to show your boarding pass as you go through too. They also have full body scanners. They randomly select people to go through. I didn't get selected - I actually wanted to do it just to see what happens! Oh well - I obviously don't fit a profile.

Luckily there was another Starbucks near my gate so I could have another frappucino (one can live just on frappucinos right?). The bar next to my gate also had last night's All Blacks game on TV, so I watched some of that before take off.

As I was about to get on the plane I checked the news on my phone. Bad news - one of the Beluga Whales I saw yesterday at the Vancouver Aquarium died this morning. Very sad. They are so beautiful.

The flight was good - luckily a different selection of movies from the other day. I don't recommend purchasing the food on Air Canada though. I ordered the Pizza (about $7). It was massive. But totally lacking in flavour.

As we descended on Toronto the sun was setting and it was gorgeous. The lights of Toronto seemed to stretch for ages.

After I collected my bags I went through the exit and met Rachel! It's so funny when you see old friends - it's like nothing has changed and no time has gone by. Hilariously we couldn't find her car in the carpark and wandered around for about 30 mins! Classic Rach. In the end we found it and headed for her place in the 'burbs (of course I went to get in on the wrong side of the car!).

Tomorrow will be a day of rest and exploring the local suburban area until Rach finishes at her Red Cross Disaster course (again - something none of my other friends would be doing - which is awesome!!). Then I think it's out on the town - Toronto style.

After a long discussion about life, politics, and pakistan, (you know - just the usual) with Rach, it's time to sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0973s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb