Vancouver


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » Stanley Park
September 15th 2011
Published: September 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My plan today was to get up nice and early so that I could get a workout in before a day of adventures, Vancouver style. That really didn't eventuate.

I headed towards the city and stopped at an IGA on the way (yes a little supermarket - not the same chain, but still found it amusing that it was an IGA like at home). I had to buy an umbrella - thanks a lot weather. I don't usually do umbrellas... but I didn't want the day to be ruined.

I headed across the road to a Starbucks (one of about 14 that I saw today). Decided to try the Salted Caramel Frappucino. LIFE CHANGING. So amazingly delicious.

Once I had drunk my delicious treat, I headed towards the Art Gallery. Of course, it stopped raining (thanks a lot umbrella for being useless). The Vancouver Art Gallery sits in the middle of BC Square. It was about $20 entry fee (fairly expensive I think). There was a surrealist exhibition on which was FANTASTIC. I actually remember seeing some of the pieces previously - I think at the Pompiedu Centre in Paris. Miro and Masson were my favourites by far.

I then proceeded to head down to the harbour I had heard so much about. It was a real shame that it was overcast, but it was still nice. No Auckland harbour. In fact, not even as good as Sydney Harbour. But it still rocked. I can imagine on a clear, sunny day that it would be beautiful. I enjoyed watching the sea planes take off. No way I was going to go up in one though!

Off I wandered around the sea walk towards Stanley Park. It was a really nice walk and the viaduct where the boats are parked (do boats park? Maybe moor?) was really nice and reminded me of Auckland.

I finally got to Stanley Park (I think it was about an hours walk in total to get there). The Aquarium wasn't nearly as far around the park as I thought it was (thankfully). I really enjoyed the Aquarium. The tropical fish bit was funny given I've actually seen those fish in the 'wild'. But the best bit was the Beluga Whales. They are AMAZING creatures. Absolutely beautiful and graceful. The show they did with them was great and actually really informative.

After such a long day of walking and sight-seeing I decided to head back to the hotel (a pretty long walk in itself). Going to head to the restaurant at the ground floor of the hotel for dinner. The special tonight is ribs. Yep - I'm going to dine North American style! Fingers crossed I work out this tip business (I did download an app to help me with it!).

Tomorrow I'm off to Toronto. Looking forward to more great Canadian customer service (I think some Aussies should come here to take lessons!) and adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb