14 hours later...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » West Vancouver
September 14th 2011
Published: September 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Arriving at Sydney Airport on Wednesday morning I was hoping to get there early and secure a seat in exit row. The friendly girl at the Air Canada counter informed me that there were none available but that she would seat me where there was a vacant seat next to me.

Once I boarded the plane, I saw the two people who were in the check in counter ahead of me. They sat down next to me. I guess I wasn't going to get that empty row afterall...

I do not recommend a flight that long to anyone! The only benefit is that when you arrive, you are already at your destination (different to when travelling to Europe where you do it in two flights). The flight was bumpy for a lot of the time and I think I got an hours sleep in all.

Vancouver airport is beautiful. I know that sounds odd for an airport... but they have obviously put a lot of effort in making it look nice. It was empty as though. The customs official grilled me on why I was in Canada. I noticed they did it to everyone so I didn't take it personally. Super serious though!

I hopped on the Skytrain to Waterfront station. It was simple to do and was quiet until it got closer to the city. Its a good, cheap way of getting downtown (about $8).

I decided to walk from Waterfront station to my hotel on Robson st. Probably not a good decision on lack of sleep and with a heavy suitcase. But at least it was easy to navigate. The first thing that struck me about Vancouver is how quiet it is. Not in terms of business, but sound. I think it is the quietest big city I've every been in.

I also saw the biggest car I've ever seen when I was walking to my hotel. It was some sort of 'pick up truck'. It was way too big to be d

Luckily when I got to the hotel, my room was ready (not bad for 9am!). Then I crashed out big time. I was so exhausted! Decided it was important to get some sleep before my job interview (via skype with Uni of Auckland) this afternoon. Also, this way I'll be fresh for a big day of adventures tomorrow.

I decided the first thing on my list would be to go to Tim Hortans. I had to summon all my will power not to go to one of the 4 Starbucks nearby and try out the local version. I wanted an Iced Caramel Latte. I got a regular caramel latte. I couldn't be bothered to tell the lady she got my order wrong. And it was delicious anyway. Food and drinks seem so cheap so far compared to home! I went to the 7eleven across the road from my hotel and a bottle of water is only 1.50 (plus a 'bottle' tax of 50c). But that is still so cheap! I've already been a bit overwhelmed by the abundance of donuts everywhere. Massively glazed, fake looking donuts. Luckily I don't like donuts or I'd definitely put on tones of kgs! I hate to think of what the food situation is going to be like in America!

Will explore a local food option tonight - there are lots of asian takeaways near the hotel. Then its museum, shops, stanley park, and harbour tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb