First two weeks in Denmark!!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kamloops
August 16th 2009
Published: August 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Rotary!!!
The first 2 weeks of my exchange have been absolutely amazing!! I have already had many new experiences, Such as cow tipping, herding cows, and eating amazing food. My host family is very nice and hospitable. My first day in Denmark was spent in Faaborg with my host family’s grandparents and my host mom and my host sister. We went grocery shopping and to my new school, the grocery shopping was not much different from back home, but the school was, it’s small with a student populace of about 250 kids compared to my old school back home which had 1700 kids, but it’s nice not having to run in-between two buildings. My first day was also the first time I would make the journey to my new home on Lyø which is a small island about 30 minutes by ferry from Faaborg. Lyø is a very beautiful farming island and it has a population of just over a 100.
My second day was spent actually seeing the whole island which only took about an hour, but I also got to see its big tourist attraction which is a rock. But this is no ordinary rock it rings when you hit it with another rock, I was quite intrigued for a few minutes but soon lost interest … at times I think I might have a bit of ADD. One thing that is way different form Kamloops is all of the bugs they have on the island, bug spray would not save you at all. But for the most part its just swarms of lady bugs.. like a lot I could kill about 100 of them in half an hour if I wanted to. Now what is cow tipping you may ask well let me tell you. This is a process you do when there is a clog in one of the cows´ four stomachs. So you start off by raping a thick rope around the cow and then you attempt to tip it over, once it’s on its side, you need to get it onto its back so you push until you have it on its back. Then everyone grabs a leg and holds it, keeping it from kicking the person that is now putting a whole lot of pressure on its lower abdomen. Then you wait until you either see it or hear it have a bowel discharge. Let’s just say you would defiantly not want to be by its backside. Herding cows is quite stress relieving once you get over the bad smell, it involves a lot of yelling and hitting the cows, Until they move into the right stall assigned to them.
The food here is very good. Before I left I was told that all Danish moms know how to cook, and so far that holds true and dinner here is always an elaborate meal. Before I left I was preparing myself for a lot of pickled herring, but so far I have had to only eat it once.
I have started school here and I was put into grade two with courses like Geography, Business merchandizing, Psychology, Gym, and English. School is really different here, yet very similar. One thing that is different is the kids here are really welcoming of exchange students and they all want to talk to you. Where as at my old school the exchange students had their own room and hardly anybody would go out of their way to socialize with them. Also they actually use their cafeteria and its divided by grads 1,2, and 3 the grade ones sit at the back, the two´s in the middle, and the 3´s on the elevated part at the front. Also I start my language lesions trm I am really excited about that!!! I will wright more as soon as I get my own computer. No need to worry I am having the time of my life




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb