11 WEEKS IN!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Aarhus
October 16th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The past few weeks have been very fun, and I am happy to say that I have done things that I would of probably not had the chance to do back home. About 9 weeks ago I had my language camp with all of the other exchange students it was a lot of fun. We took few day trips one of them was to Arhus and it was so much fun. we started out at a museum and were able to look around for 3 hrs, then we go out and walk around the city and I think this was the day I realized that I have a very bad spending problem I mean I always have but I usually don’t have my dad’s money at my finger tips each day 😉. 5 weeks ago my host brother came into my room and asked me if I wanted to see something cool and of course I jumped on the opportunity. So he led me out to the barn, and to my surprise there was a cow giving birth. He then asked me if I would like to try pulling it out. I said “why not “but I had only gotten my hands around the legs of the calf before I freaked out because of the slime that the cow was covered in. So my first attempt at helping a cow give birth was not a total fail..... But I have made a promise with myself that if another cow gives birth before I leave I will be the one pulling it out. Also My Danish classes are going well too! I am learning quite a lot and I am able to understand many things. My host parents keep saying that they have to sensor what they talk about now because they never know what I can understand. School is becoming more and easier but that’s only because my teachers now know that I don’t understand enough to do the work and read the texts. So in class I write down the words that I do understand for practice. I have already been here for 11 weeks and it does not feel like all that time has passed, it’s really quite amazing. I have only had one rotary meeting since I have gotten here; it seems I am only allowed to go on the days that they invite me. So I should only be meeting them about 4 times this year. My currant host family, really feels like home now and I am very thankful to of had them as my first family. And living on a farm has also been very amazing not to mention that the farm is on a 6km long island that had only added to my experience and enriched it. I have also made a trip to Copenhagen which was very special for me because I was able to stay with Ulrik Borch who was an exchange student at Day break a few years ago. So I think it’s safe to say that I saw Copenhagen the best way possible. My next families live in Fåborg. The family that I will be moving to in 7 days also seem very nice, the parents are both veterinarians and they have four children. The eldest lives in Copenhagen and the second eldest is going to live in Africa shortly after I move in, their middle child is an exchange student in Michigan, and their youngest will be there when I move. So I am looking forward to seeing how a different Danish family runs. I will try to update more often and post a more detailed blog the next time. Seeing as my blogs tend to be short...... lols



BEST REGARDS FROM DANMARK!!!!!!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Lukas Lukas
Lukas

younger host brother, who loves the camera


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb