Hello and Goodbye


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kamloops
November 28th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

Well it appears that the law of attraction is moving full speed ahead. We have sold the house, I am now umemployed, Bill is enjoying his holidays before his leave, and yes it is a little surreal. We have been dreaming of this day for a long time...

We are now in the process of packing, packing, packing and giving stuff away. I can't believe the amount of STUFF we still have. Scary! I promise I will never be a pack rat again. You are all witness to that.

Our plans are to leave Kamloops Dec 4th to visit friends and family in Vancouver and the island until Dec 17 approximately. Our first stop will be Fiji - I can't wait. I have been freezing this past week. It doesn't help that I packed away all my winter clothes and coats.

We have been packing for our trip and I am so happy that my pack to date is only 22lbs - not bad for a pack rat! Bill has a bigger pack which is weighing in at 16lbs half packed. I like Rena's idea that Bill can take the overflow from my pack. MMMMMM...... we'll see. I don't think he'll fall for it. Maybe if I try one item at a time.

This a test run for the blog and also my second try. Hope you all recieve it.

Take care.

Jo



Advertisement



28th November 2007

Happy Travels!
So glad you added me to your subscriber list. I look forward to reading about all your travels. So, again, Happy Travels!
28th November 2007

Fun fun and more fun!
I can only imagine the anticipating you must have waking up each morning knowing that for the next 12 months (at least) you won't be doing anything but travelling and enjoying the sights. Needless to say, you're going to see things most people only dream of seeing - enjoy every minute of it guys, you've certainly earned it ;) I'll definitely be keeping up on your blog entries, looking forward to living vicariously through your photos and entries, haha. Joey
28th November 2007

Cool!
This is really cool. I look forward to living vicariously through you, while remaining securely shackled to my cubicle. Have the time of your lives!!
28th November 2007

Congratulations
Congratulations on your trip! You will soon see that it was the right decision (not that we don't need and want Bill back here at MOT). :-) I have travelled some of the areas you will be visiting myself--also with a backpack, and you'd be surprised what you can do without. I saw travellers with no more than a small daypack containing all their worldly goods. Okay, you can get extreme about it, too: if you find yourself drilling holes in your toothbrush to cut down on the weight..... When you get back you will probably furnish your home with a few throw pillows and a coat hook and think it's just fine. I will be glad to follow along here and see how you are doing from time to time. Thanks for the invitation to your blog. Best, Lawrence
28th November 2007

Hello
Hi Joanne and Bill: It worked! WOW! WOW! WOW! Congratulations on your dream coming true. There are no words that I can say on how I feel about what you two are doing for yourselves. However I do have a proud and happy heart for you. We do need to talk before you go. Tonight would be great. Lauretta
29th November 2007

We're envious
Sounds exciting. We wish we had the courage to do what you are doing. Hope you have a great time.
29th November 2007

"The amazing couple"
You guys are amazing you know that right? Really Jo only 22 lbs I know you too well there has to more!! How can I fit in there without Bill and Bob catching on? Hope to see you in Italy for the big 50! Bob's working on winning the lottery so we can come! Stay safe - take lots of pics! Looking forward to visit on the island before you head away on this once in a lifetime journey .... love you guys!
29th November 2007

The first one is from Joanne
I will give you all the rest of the story. She is all about rainbows and kittens, I will give you all the dirt. Stay tuned. We are getting dive certified on the Yasawas and will Island hop for the next couple of weeks diving, snorkelling and managing a fat red body. cheers all ............. till we blog again !
29th November 2007

wow!!!!!!!!!!!!
So now you are the great world travelers. Go have fun. Do everything you can and soak up all the cultures. once in a life time experience and I know you will make the most of it. All of us here will be anxiously awaiting your next posting. By the way we love the new bed. Thanks for the great deal. will miss you lots. Rena
30th November 2007

This is exciting
I am so excited for you both and looking forward to hearing about your many adventures!!! I might be out of town when you're down on the coast. If so - here's to a safe, happy, fantastic trip!!!! Sandra
1st December 2007

Yahoooooo!!
Finaly you are on your way....bet ya thought it would never happen eh!Anyway can't wait to be hearing about all your travel adventures.It will be like tuning in to a good TV show for Mick and I this next year or so.Being as we are such TV watchers in winter.Pleeease look after yourselves guys and have the time of your lives,love and miss ya both already!!!!!Jeannette and Mick
3rd December 2007

Bon Voyage!
Hi Joanne: When my dad, Terry told me that you had sold your house and going on a trip of a lifetime - I couldn't believe it! Good for you! I hope you have a safe trip and send lots of photos! Love your cousin, Louise McCann XO:) PS If you make it to TO, we have lots of spare room!
3rd December 2007

Wow...
You guys are an inspiration. I hope you find what you are looking for....and make a difference along the way. All the best..... Ryan
5th December 2007

Happy for you!
Thanks for including me Bill and Joanne! I am so happy that you are following your dream! It will be great to share your adventure. I wish you the best!
10th December 2007

You are never too old for dreams to come true!
Now this is what empty nesters should be doing! Ev and I also plan to live vicariously through you for the next year, so go for it and have the time of your lives. Looking forward to many, many adventures.
12th December 2007

Happy Travels
Good luck on your journey! Someday, I hope to have the cojhones to do the same. Take lots of pics...........
15th December 2007

HOLY WOW good for you guys
First let me say this is my first blog,,kinda cool....,,,,,,I am so excited for you two and can hardly wait to see pics and hear on this blog about your adventures, wow a year of travels,,,life is good.P.S. it was nice seeing you b4 you left ....the pizza and purdys were delicious,,,,,Shel*
21st December 2007

Looking for Fiji
Hey Bill and Joanne. It was -11 in Kamloops this morning and I was looking to for some warm photos of Fiji... Looking forward to seeing more posts from around the world in the coming months. Have fun!
27th December 2007

Xmas
hope you had a great Christmas and ate lots of sea food. Ours was nice, snow but not chilly but lots of food and vino. All the best and hope all is ok.
1st January 2008

Happy New Year
Hi Joanne. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and New Year!! By now you should have begun getting shoulder strap calluses from your back packs which will make the rest of the trip soooo much easier :) Had a moment to do Reiki yet?? Thinking of you...love Val
16th January 2008

Hello
Hi Joanne and Bill, how are you? Pictures are awesome. We just got back from Italy yesterday. We had a great time. I was thinking of you over Christmas and New Years. Hope you had a great one. I look forward to seeing more of your travels. As for me it is back to work tomorrow. Take care. Anna
18th April 2008

Tazzy Devils
Well hello you 2 great to see your blog, sounds like you are having fun shamme you did not like Koh Samui I loved it but only the northern part !!! Have you done the detox Spa yet ?? Am in Euador now of to the Galapogas in a couple of days and Argentina before I return home !! But will be back in Oz in July so if you are in the UK or OZ give me a buzz I am sure its time we met for another beer !! Take care and enjoy your travels Lots of love Juss x

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb