Calgary Stampede


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
July 17th 2007
Published: July 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Welcome back, its been a long time!

Well I'm still here in the Rocky Mountains, enjoying the summer and my last few months here.

This trip I head to Calgary for the annual Stampede. Calgary is about 1 hour east of Banff and is basically the foothills of the Rockies.

The Stampede is a huge event for Calgary and runs for about 2 weeks, having quite a few events besides from the usual rides and unhealthy hotdogs, pluto pups and fairy floss. About 9 out of 10 people are wearing some sort of cowboy hat, and if you haven't already got one don't worry theres plenty of shops to purchase one.

Other events include of course a rodeo, bmx, hypnotist shows and one of my main reasons for going, the music. Now for you country fans there's plenty of that, but if your like me you'll head to the coca cola stage for the rock bands.

Three Days Grace played one night...they were ok...but when I found out Live was playing I had to drive back to Calgary just to see these guys. The concert was amazing! These guys sound incredible live.. hence the

name I guess!?

We spent the rest of our time going on rides and wasting money on stupid games, and dreading the drive back.

So thats it for now but don't worry, the best is yet to come and I WILL be updating..

Cheers,

Dan.






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb