God is good


Advertisement
Middle East
July 24th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It has been a pretty busy (in a good way) past few weeks. As I have gone through this summer, I have often found myself thinking of the different things individual friends and family members would appreciate in certain moments. For example, I was walking down a street in Istanbul the other day, thinking of the things my brother, or my sister, would appreciate about the particular sights, sounds, smells, and aspects of culture I was experiencing through my eyes. Since we each see things through our own eyes and appreciate and notice different aspects of things based on our past experiences, our knowledge and interests, I keep finding myself hoping that someday more of my family and friends will get to experience Turkey.

I have been working more closely with the psychologist at Rehab center #1, and have had the opportunity to discuss sensory integration theory with her quite a bit. We have been working on the case of the child in my past entry, and I've been seeing changes in the way Stella (the psychologist) and the boy's mother, see the situation. There is hope. I feel like I'm really making a difference, and it's so exciting to see progress and to see Stella's excitement over learning about sensory integration! She has really caught onto it and I know that she will be teaching others in Turkey about it as well. So in this way I feel like I've been able to make a lasting impression on rehab in Turkey, even if it's only been one topic.

I've been spending more and more time with the physiotherapists at this same center, rehab center #1, and I just love spending time with them. They are such a fun group of people, and we have had some good laughs! A lot of times I think it's at me, being the bewildered American who often has no idea what's going on in the conversation, and when asked a question, stares blankly at the asker until we all realize that either the person asking the question failed to say it right, or I failed to understand it right! One of the parents in the room today told me we all need to stop speaking English and I need to start speaking Turkish. With much assistance I was able to carry on a whole conversation in my broken Turkish, about my family. This means much assistance (I had to ask how to say lots of words and repeat phrases they taught me in the moment, that I cant' even remember now). But I agree that if I talked like that for the next few weeks I would really learn a lot more Turkish more quickly!

At rehab center #2 I have continued with the parent aerobics classes and the student exercise classes on mondays and wednesdays. Talya has come with me for the past few times (the 11 year old who was originally my translator) because she absolutely loves coming to the rehab centers and being with the special needs people. I think the experience of coming with me to the centers has really had an impact on her. Her dad told me that on some days she would rather come to the centers with me than go swimming with her friends. That, to me was exciting! I also showed her how to use my favorite childhood toy, my Mystix, and she has made much improvement in her Mystix skills already! We are now finished with the program in center 2, as they go on their 2 week summer break next week. I said goodbye to the parents, and will say farewell to the staff when they reopen the last week I am in town. I have made friends with one of the special ed teachers at that center, and we have gone shopping and swimming together with her husband's sister and her friends.

Last week I was introduced to a man with a rare syndrome called Lance Adams Syndrome that he was diagnosed with last year. He is the husband of one of the ladies that goes to Curves, and I am hoping to be able to get to know him and his family a little better before I leave. Perhaps I will be able to provide some suggestions OT related, that may be able to help him become more independent.

I realized today why they might not have OTs in Turkey. In the profession of OT we help people become more independent- this is a significant part of what our roles are as therapists. In turkey independence is not valued near as much as in America. People are very family oriented, and if someone is unable to care for him or her self, it is accepted that others will step in and help. For example, the Turks don't really see it as a problem that there are no proper ramps in the city. But the attitude is, if one is disabled, he will have someone to push him in the wheelchair, so a proper ramp isn't needed. If someone can't dress him or herself, they simply get help. There is no other option. By giving and receiving help so readily, especially within families, people show their love and concern for another. I may be wrong, but this is how I understand it to be (disclaimer)!

I went to Istanbul with Karn on monday and Tuesday. It was A BLAST! I love that city! While she worked at the Curves she owns there, I explored the city! I got to see the Asian side on monday and the European side on Tuesday. I walked a lot- up to 3-4 hours each day, and saw a lot. We went to some nice meals, and slept on Ikea mats inside one of her Curves facilities on the European side. We were on the top of a building overlooking the Bosphorous and the famous bridge. I'll be going back with
Exercise Exercise Exercise

The students love the ball
the deputation team in 3 weeks to finish off our Turkey trip with some major Istanbul doing.

Verna and I had a meeting with the owners and managers of the Rehab facility #1. The camp is a go!! The idea of the camp being the main reason I came to Turkey, it is exciting that it will actually happen. Verna and I will visit the property sometime in the next few weeks. In my opinion, it could not have worked out better. I don't know much about business, but by sitting in the meetings and listening to Verna, Tansule, and the rehab center folks discuss details of ownership, sponsorship, funding, investors, etc, I'm kind of getting idea of how businesses work. The camp will likely start out small, as a week long summer camp for say, 20-50 kids at a time, and each year grow bigger. We will start with people with disabilities in Turkey, then expand to Europe and the world. I think it will be amazing. It has been, and will be, a long process. Because aside from Starbucks, I'm beginning to think everything in Turkey moves SLOW! The rehab center #1 still hasn't moved into their
Exercise timeExercise timeExercise time

Rehab center 2
new facility- they are waiting for inspection. Tansule still hasn't opened up her new SheMall childcare facility. It isn't quite finished. One more month, month after month, takes patience I'm sure!!

Speaking of Tansule, the deputation girls who are leading the Kulture Kamp at Tansule's daycare, are really enjoying their Turkey experience. I have been going with them to the Kresh (preschool) on fridays to teach gymnastics to the kids. It's very fun and the kids seem to like it!

How am I doing? Well, I have to say that I have really learned a ton this summer, about Turkey, and about life. Being away has given me a lot of opportunity to reflect, and grow personally and especially spiritually. I have really begun to appreciate the time it takes to get to know people and earn their trust, and even learn to trust them. I have seen how complicated social dynamics can be. Unspoken rules of society and culture are not quickly learned. I have struggled with the ins and outs of being in a different culture, the barriers of language, and the unknown. I have had to think through my actions carefully, because when one's speech is easily misunderstood, actions speak much more loudly than words. I have made mistakes, learned from them, and made them again. I appreciate every day the opportunity to be able to come here. I am constantly in awe of the amazing way God works in situations. I know now more than ever the power of prayer. I am more aware of the things I struggle with, and I am becoming more equipped to make change. Everyday there are new and different surprises. Somedays the heat is really really draining and all I want to do is hide out in an air conditioned room. There are still 3 weeks left in Turkey, before I go to Europe, then head home. I'm looking forward to making the best of these remaining weeks here!! If you didn't read my previous entries because I published it quietly without an email message), you might be interested to read the part about my plans for after Turkey. Anyway, it's late and I gotta go to bed!! I love you and miss you all!!

Kim









Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Some parents and teachers enjoying belly dancingSome parents and teachers enjoying belly dancing
Some parents and teachers enjoying belly dancing

I brought in belly dancing music and everyone loved it! We had 3 great days of turkish dancing fun!
Rehab Center #2Rehab Center #2
Rehab Center #2

From the outside
Rehab center #1Rehab center #1
Rehab center #1

From the outside
Gymnastics at Tansule's KresGymnastics at Tansule's Kres
Gymnastics at Tansule's Kres

(Preschool/Daycare)
The Curves girls, Verna, and AysagulThe Curves girls, Verna, and Aysagul
The Curves girls, Verna, and Aysagul

At Aysagul's 17th birthday party
Karn and I on top of a unique restaurant in IstanbulKarn and I on top of a unique restaurant in Istanbul
Karn and I on top of a unique restaurant in Istanbul

Views of the Bosphorous and historical sites in Istanbul were also amazing but not pictured
TaximTaxim
Taxim

Popular shopping area in Istanbul


Tot: 0.424s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb