Bat Mitzvah and Vacation


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District » Tiberias
January 16th 2009
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday night I got the chills and did not feel so good. I ended up having a fever and chills all day and couldnt function on thursday. I didnt go to volunteering because I was so sick and couldnt be around 2 2 1/2 year olds. My body ached and I didnt know what to do. I just decided suck it up you will feel better and mom will take care of me.

My entire family is in Israel (minus my dad :-( ). This is going to be out of control. Thursday 1/15 I am meeting my great uncle at the airport who has never been to Israel his entire life. I was thinking about getting to BG way before he lands make a sign so he could get the typical greet when arriving in Israel, low and behold my train from TA was late and I couldnt do that. When he called me to say he was out in the open area where guests wait to be greeted I could not wait. I was so excited for him to start his journey which is only ten days long. The both of us were waiting from my AL and US and Abby who were flying from Toronto and then all of us were going to drive up to kibbutz. My mom and brother landed at about 6 am thursday morning and I cant wait to see them and spend time with them. AL and US flight was about an hour and 1/2 late (maybe even more). UD and I we just talking and catching up because the last time I saw him was in Aug at AR wedding. We had some bonding time and he absolutely gained points with my cool factor. He was always a cool person but I think now, I really get to see it. We went out of eat at a restaurant that was recommended to US and then we drove up to kibbutz. We did not get there until 12 /12:30 in the morning an everyone in the Singer/Israel home were still up and waiting to greet all of us. I quickly crash because I know this weekend will be jamed packed. My mom wakes my brother up around 9/9:30 and i wake up too just because it was a voice I havent heard in a long time. It was so good to see her. It has been four months with out really seeing my mom, yes skype kinda counts but not really.

Friday morning the Israeli singers prepared that everyone who was family would go to this organic restaurant that was this families on the mountain next to them. It is a drug rehab center and places for adults and teens but there is this tiny restaurant there as well. You get there and the first thing you see is this huge fire in the center of the room (all I wanted to do was stand right next to it) then the second thing was you HAD to take off your shoes. It was part of the experience. It was absolutely delicious, here were unending omelets, salad, fresh squeezed juices, cheeses, veggies you name it , it was there. This was a great beginning to the weeend. Low and behold there was a bingo game, where in the squares you had find the person and get their signature of which applies to them. It was great, I havent seen some of Judys family since I was four and now I can actually have a conversation with them (in my broken hebrew). I cant wait to see what happens with the rest of the weekend.

The Bat Mitzvah was beautiful. The girls spoke elequent as well as enjoyed everyone company. The time we were able to spend together as a huge family was great. Only simchas really bring everyone together, now that we are so spread out in chicago, cincy, new york, and Israel. That the time that we do get to spend together is just so cherished and appreciated. Motzie shabbat we were able to show different slide shows and sing songs that were created for the girls. Seth and Lisa created a slide show of all different pictures we have of the family as well as the girls with the family.

Sunday morning, we had a bday party for Abby, she turned three and we went out to have pizza and cake for her big bday. She seemed to enjoy her big crowed at her party. We got crowns and necklaces, and jewelry and such. The theme was peterpan however, peterpan is not manly enough for boys back in the states so it was a slight abbreviation to tinkerbell. It was still a lot of fun. Sunday night, the girls had their ice cream party for their friends. They were able to sing and dance, and have ice cream tons of ice cream. I was a scooper and I dont think I have ever scooped that much ice cream in my entire life. The girls friends also sang them some songs and they also read their drash again. It was very nice and simple and the girls said that they enjoyed themselves.

So I was able to take sunday-thursday off right after the bat mitzvah to spend with my family It was so nice. So monday my uncle took my mom and brother and I on a jeep tour in the lower galalee. It was was beautiful we saw many wild animals and had some tea that was made from sage and other fresh herbs. It was so nice. Monday night was just chill and UC had dinner with the girls we had omelets made to our order as well as french fries.

Tuesday UC, mom seth and I drove down to Mesada and the dead sea. We met up with AL US Abby, UD, AR and Robby. It was a huge gang but it was awesome. Our tour guide was UC and he was great I dont think he missed a beat with being on top of Mesada. I was a little disappointed we were not getting there at 3 am to hike up the snake path, or the Roman Ramp but the cable car was pretty cool also because when you looked out, you could actually see where the Romans were camped out and where they were based. After mesada we camped out and ate our packed lunch and wandered to the dead sea. Seth and a bunch of people went in but in january or ever you will never catch me going back into the dead sea. It was a once in a life experience and it was cool for that purpose. Tuesday night was the only night that mom didnt have the apt that she rented in jlem so we stayed at the Plaza. We were able to catch a little bit of the inauguration that was taking place that afternoon but we were also getting ready because UD took us to a really nice restaurant called IMAs it was awesome, it was a great meat place and AL announced that she is pregnant again so it was very exciting meal.

Wednesday mom and seth and I went to Yad Vashem, I have been there but seth has never been to the new one. Once again it was very emotional and inspiring and even though it is on a sad part of history I would go back there again because it is so different than the one in DC. That night we met grandma and UD and walked the tunnels under the kotel. It was very cool some of the stone that is underground is from the time period of the temple and so was part of the stone that we were waking on. It was very cool. We then went out to an italian restaurant and then I said goodbyes to UD because he is leaving friday night and I wasnt going to see him again since I wasnt able to have shabbat dinner with my family.

Thursday I did my own thing, Brenda took my mom and brother and I out to breakfast and then my brother and mom were going to TA for the day, and i was meeting a friend for coffee and going to the seminar that I have. It is a mifgash with Israelis my age and have an encounter with them. I have to be at Kiryat Moriah at 4pm so I wouldnt have made it back in time from TA if I went with them. Its ok because sat night I am going to see my mom and brother before they go back to NYC. I think I am going to take them to timol shilshom my little hole in the wall that Tx introduced me to.

It was a very nice vacation and I enjoyed myself a lot and it was great to see the family I did while they were all here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb