Partnership 2000


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Center District » Rehovot
January 4th 2009
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Part two is finally beginning. I was extremely ready to move here from Beer Sheva and to see what is too come. We moved here Jan 4th and had a week of touring our different volunteer places. My schedule got switched a bunch of times, and this is the final version. I am working in a kindergarten and a couple matnasim. In the afternoon in one I work with an after school program for kids with special needs, and then the evening with at risk teens. The other night that I work is an evening program for kids with special needs and then lastly I work at an after school program called a tzharon for kids to have a place to go when the finish school at 1230.

I started volunteering the first week and it was very hard to get into a routine because I went from not really volunteering in B7 to a full schedule. The one plus is, that when I do have free time, I can use my gym membership that I got. I Joined the country club which is down the street from my apt it is so nice. The coordinator seems nice, but we will see what happens it seems like she is out of it a lot of the time. I also am counting down the days to my cousins bat mitzvah because I get to see my entire family including my mom. I have started to feel like i need a break from the people I live with. They are great, we cook for each other and what not but I think that I am deff the third wheel in this picture and I dont like that feeling.

I have given my volunteer places the chances they deserve and a couple of them I just really dont like. I dont feel like I am connecting with the kids or just enjoying what I am doing. Everyone else in Rehovot absolutely love thier places, so the people I live with just think I am not giving what I need to, to the places which is just not true. Iit is already Febuary 21st and we leave March 31st. So if I switch now, the other places will just not get the full of my experience here. I now learned that I really shouldnt wait and that if I decide to wait and give it a try then really speak up. But now there is nothing I can do and I will ust make the best of it.

One weeknd in the end of january the new york federation included the eight otzmanikim on the trip. We had cocktails with Nir Barkat (new appointed mayor of jlem) and then were able to hear some of the speakers of the first day of the mission. It was very cool. We were able to meet people and tell our stories. I actually met this guy who has his own business with photography and it is called through the lens and it is in Jewish schools in the states as well in Israel primarily it was piloted in Rehovot. Once I heard that I knew I would be interested in working with kids doing that project especially since it was the age group I asked for. Elementary 4th grade. Once I brought this idea to my coordinator she basially said I need to stay where she put me. I was a little bummed but I saw that being her answer. The first thing that ran through my mind was the saying that is constantly repeated (Otzma is what you make of it).. Here I am trying to make it what I want and every time I get shut down.

I have never been a person to count down days til something is over, but that is how I honestly feel here and I shouldnt because on teh weekends when it is my time I am thoroughly enjoying the trip and people I meet. I volunteered for the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations, and I was able to hear Ehud Olmert, Tzipi Livni and Bibi Netanyahu three very important people right now. I heard them speak right after elections and during a period of time that the coalitions were being formed. I also got to spend a little time with my aunt and that was a plus and I thanked her for the opportunity I was able to get by her inviting me to the dinners and such.

I have decided I will give my time to my volunteer places when I have to which is sunday through thursday and I will do what I want on my mornings off, as well as my weekends. It is so nice that I have sunday morning off and that my weekend is extended by twelve hours and it makes a huge difference. TX and I are going to IDC to check it out for ourselves I am quite excited a little nervous and not sure what to expect but I am going there with an open mind. It is called International Disciplinary Center - Raphael Recanati International school. They have a handful of majors a couple I am interested I would live in Israel for three years and study in English which is a huge thing. People come all over to study at IDC and it might just be the place for me to repave the road for me of a healthy academic environment. The area of study that I think I am interested in what they offer is Government, Diplomacy and Strategy. It is very intense the course selection but I think it will be very stimulating especially learning it from professors who grew up in Israel as well as who live within the current political situation here. I have been talking about this school for a very long time. I have friends who are studying here from USY, RAMAH as well as NYC. They are prob about done with their degree here since its only three years. But from what I heard they have loved it every single moment. The school schedule is very different, its not like the American system where its AUG-MAY its more like OCT-JUL. This is because of all the Jewish Holidays so they dont want to have to start and stop school over and over again almost every week in the months of September. It is very smart and I would be able to go home for pesach and the summer. I am very excited I have someone coming with me so that TX can see and help me evaluate if this is the place for me.

Low and behold I am having a rocky time in rehovot but it is almost done and I can not wait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb