Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
February 16th 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My aunt Roz is here again but this time for work. She works for the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations. She is here planning the logistics of the trip for the constituents and I get to help out a little. She invited me to hear Ehud Olmert and dinner, then as well as hear Tzipi Livini and Bibi Netanyahu. It is very interesting time to have all these high political speakers come talk because elections just took place and we have no government yet. I was able to help by volunteering and helping get thing prepared for each of the speakers. Ehud Olmert has been speaking to this conference for many years, and he even said this is the only time where he hasnt just been running for office. He seemed very relaxed and also candid. The issue I have for when high politicians when they speak to an American group I feel like its never the truth of whats going on. They all have agendas of what they want the audience to hear and think whats going on. Tzipi did not speak for long and took 2 or 3 questions. Elections took place on the 10th and Kadima won the most seats. People thought that she might be the Prime Minister and be the first female since Golda or it could either be Bibi Netanyahu. It is now to Peres to decide who will be the acting Prime Minister. Bibi always speaks great. He interacts with the crowd, he also has an agenda but I think he doesn't make it so evident that is what he is going to say. He said what he was going to focus on if he is appointed Prime Minister. It was a great couple nights and I really appreciate that I was able to take part in it.

I also randomly ran into my friend who works for the Army as a reporter at the dinner for Bibi. It was great to see him. Also my friends said that all the news covered it. And I was not expecting that.

It is now March 3rd and there is still no government in place. Bibi Netanyahu has been appointed as Prime Minister and he is still in the process of forming his coalition. He wants Tzipi Livini to be apart of that but she does not want to. She wants him to agree that for two years he will be Prime Minister and for 2 years she will be Prime Minister. He will never agree to that. And plus, Bibi is forming a very right wing government and I do not think that she will take part in a coalition with whom he is trying to include. We will see with the week or weeks to come of what government will be put in place. I think time is slowly ticking and that Bibi better get a move on.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb