Winter Break!


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
December 27th 2008
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BREAK BREAK is finally here. I totally need this time just to relax and I can not wait. I am spending most my time in jlem because the family is coming down for shabbat chanukkah as well as CRS is coming on two different missions so that they said I should stay around. TX spent a couple days with me until her friend was done with BR and then they were going up to haifa and coming back to jlem after I would meet her friend sat night when they get back. I have heard so much about him and even partaken in some skype conversations but I just want to meet him in person finally.

Shabbat Chanukkah was a lot of fun it was C,J,S,Z,K myself and grandma and grandpa in the tiny jerusalem apt building. We played a a lot of squinch and enjoyed lighting candles and singing channukah songs. It was very relaxing especially after coming from pardes and going out a lot during the beginning of my vacation. I know TX and co were coming back around 9pm sat night so we decided to go to Marakia (soup rest) all they serve is soup and when they are out thats it. It is a whole in the wall and very cute. It ends up that B invited a friend from BR and i instantly think that he is cute. MD graduated in 06 and hasnt been to Israel in many years but has a ton of family here so he extended his trip till Jan 22. We end up having a low key night because MD was with his cousin and we just went to this nargilah bar and sipped on some beers. It was a very nice evening just getting to know new people. I gave him my number jumped out of the car and screamed call me. I never actually thought he would I didnt know when our paths would cross again. Sunday night since I was on vacation TX and co and I decided to go out again. B called MD and invited him out we met up with CO from Otzma and got some classy beers and decided that we should go to canann. MD and I sat on one side of the table while we were joined by CO TX B and CY but we were just in our own little world. TX said she saw the sparks flying but I still dont believe her entirely.I ended up walking back to Arnona so that MD wouldnt get lost even though he swore he knew his way, I figured he might get a little turned around. We sat on a park bench an talked til 3 in the morning just getting to know one another. He then said breakfast tomorrow? I quickly smiled and said sure, I will call you when I wake up. I knew he was spending some time in jlem to see his family here I was soon making my way to TA for new years eve. I enjoy my bfast and invite him to come to TA for new years eve I guess we will just see what will happen.

I meet B and TX in the Tachanat to make our way to TA since it is Bs last day in Israel. Which is kind of sad to see two best friends having to say goodbye. Wee meet up with some other of Bs BR friends who are on the same flight as him. We go out to dinner walk the beach for a little and then talk and catch up with CO. We stay up late to say our goodbyes but I knew that if TX goes back home after this year it would not be my last time seeing B. We say happy new year, since its most likely that B might be on a plane or just landing in TX so we try to enjoy it a day early.

TX CO and i can not wait for this evening since it is new years eve. Plus I have not gone out in a long time with friends. B left a huge amount of vodka and we are meeting up with a couple Otzmanikim as well as maybe MD. and one of CO friends from back home who is visiting a couple of weeks. Ends up MD called CO and he decided to spend NYE with us. I was kinda excited didnt know what to expect if it was going to be exactly where we left off or if it was just going to a friend relationship which i would have been cool with. We were going to get pizza and beer and sit on the beach to start our night off with the boys but TX and I got a phone call. So we had to jet.

TX and I knew that MDs parents were here for winter vacation with her brother. We wanted to see them and meet her family since we all were in TA. So when MD called us we knew something was up and had to go at the becking call. We knew something was up we could tell it in her tone. We talk with her for a couple hours and we find out she is going home which makes me sad but I knew this was a possibility. We end up going out to sushi and make it a girls dinner, we invite LA to join us but she was with the boys and what not. After dinner LA,TX,I, MD were heading back to the hostel so that we could meet back up with the boys. Instantly female MD picks up on male MDs behavior twds me. ( told her that at lunch and the afternoon he was stand offish but I think that was being he was in pain and or didnt want to make it public which I am cool with.) I heard through CO that all the alcohol was gone so I knew that when all the ladies would get back that the behavior of male MD would totally be different. It was back to what I was familiar and I was very ready for the night. The boys felt bad that they finished all the alcohol so they ran out and got the girls white wine, and when they get back i see out of the corner of my eye that it is not just white wine but my favorite white wine in Israel. TISHBI french reasling. It is light and very girly.

Through the night the guys met some other people at the hostel and we were hanging out and doing lechaims and just getting to know each other. We were not yet outside when the clock struck 12 and we all screamed happy new year in the hostel lobby. I just hope that this year 2009 brings me better luck and happiness which it already started on a good note. We end up making it to a block party we were all drinking and having fun, we get back to the hostel around 1:30/2 I am so ready to turn in and everyone else decided to watch the sunrise on the beach (which happened to be my idea but I just couldnt keep my eyes open)

It was a great way to bring in the new year, and I was able to make new friends. Nothing could have been better. It was very different than last year, when I was at an MTV party in Manhattan but I dont think I would have traded anything this year.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb