Time out


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Center District » Netanya
March 21st 2010
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Just a note .

All the pleasures of home...I am so fortunate for a friend like Cynie and her mom . Their Israel is easy to enjoy and just BE...I have been sleeping a little later , having coffee and breakfast without having to get dressed and going out , reading a paper and generally recouping my energy for the travels of the next few weeks.

Cynie's town is a pleasant place and the home they built there is a weloming space . Her mom's is an apartment overlooking the Mediteranean and featuring the most amazing sunsets. I am a fortunate woman.

Israel has bee a real surprise to me . I had not realized that it is such a beautiful place . The Galilee and the wildflowers , the Jordan valley that is filled with agricultural fields growing everything from oranges ,olives , bananas ,and garden produce of many kinds . The sand dunes by the sea , the SEA , eucalyptus groves that were planted to dry out the swampy areas by the sea , grain fields and more wildflowers and blooming trees... beautiful!

Then there are the ruins .Romans , crusaders , ottoman...they appear here and there as one is driving along . Yesterday we stopped by a Aquaduct built by the Romans that has a block carved with the name Hadrian and the date ... just there , beside a road , gradually being eroded by the elements . There are too many ruins to maintain and/or restore the all and life must go on...

A beautiful and fascinating country .

Tomorrow I move on again . Hope all is well... keep me posted.

Advertisement



21st March 2010

65 yrs tomorrow
Then you will have 2 bros collecting from Stevie. He doesn't look any older, (maybe 1 day older). I don't think it will hurt him too badly. The monetary compensation will dull any pain. Just back from our last Mass here for this spring. Will be in the US next wk end. Interesting blog as usual. Keep the news coming. Enjoy, R&C
21st March 2010

Greetings
I will take the boys to mass this morning at "your' church and say one for you. I will look for Liam and famly. I bet he sure misses you. Spring has come to Regina. I have been thrilled to hear a robin all morning. I am appreciating you travel blogs...thank you thank you for including me on your list. You write so well and so descriptively that I almost feel that I hve been in you pocket. I m delighted that you are haivng such a good time...would expect any less? Have not seen anyof the "girls" with he exception of Miss Jayne...she is spending quality time with her delightful grand daughter. Plese take care of yourelf and "keep up the good work"...leting so many of us live vicariously through you. Best Wendy
21st March 2010

Sounds wonderful - what a nice respite from the busy schedule you've been keeping! Take care
22nd March 2010

re: beautiful
It really does sound beautiful... It's spring!! We have many plants giving off green shoots and now tulips peeking out of the ground also. The kids are all excited as this is their school's week of extra phys. ed happenings - swimming lessons every day for Peter, three days roller blading for Lucia and John and Philip each get two half days of rock climbing. After that we'll be into Holy Week and preparing to go to Regina for Easter. We'll be a small crowd this year as you, Paul and Tanya's family and Novecoskys won't be in Regina. I am truly looking forward to a long visit on Good Friday with Dad, Grandma Petroski, Schneiders, possibly T,K,L LaBelles and Grismers. You of course will most likely have the most memorable Holy Week and Easter of your life! My reference about the olympics was about farmer vision - We don't have cable, but were able to enjoy complete coverage of the olympics via CTV and OMNI =) Take care. Love, Stephanie
22nd March 2010

spring
Pam - good to hear you are so relaxed and enjoying life by the sea. Sounds great! Supper with Ron & Marilyn on Sat ... thinking of you, and all were happy to read these dispatches. Mild weather ... slow melt ... your timing is perfect! See you soon. Cheers Fred
22nd March 2010

Sounds so beautiful
I think the title of my comment says it all! What a scenic way to spend a few days.....
22nd March 2010

Great commentary Pam............very enjoyable over a coffee and bagel this weekend. I am looking at maps tying in your jouney and the historic references. I enjoy that. It appears to me that I may need to put israel on my bucket list. Have fun.....BE SAFE Lionel
22nd March 2010

All is well. The hliday sounds spectacular so far. Lots of sights, sounds, smells, etc. Oh, I just read Wendy's note, - A ROBIN!!!!! Yahoo!!! I saw an ant. Whoopee. Larry & I had two friends for supper last night. We had a good visit and got caught up, as one lives in Calgary and we see her about once or twice a year. ABBAmania was at the Symphony on Sat. night. I've never been a fan, but the harmonies were good. Maybe when you are back you will be able to see the Paul McCartney tribute - April something. The weekend you get back, my brother and sister-in-law from Houston will be in town for a few days. We look forward to their visit. Last Sunday night we got to look after our 1 year old great nephew - Jackson - for a few hours. We took him for a ride in the stroller over to Davin for a swing ride, He liked the dogs we came across. We had to stop and talk to them. Who knows, I might be following in your footsteps. :>) Children are such fun. Happy Spring!!!
23rd March 2010

Pam your writing is so vivid that I can visualize the flowers, fruit and beautiful trees; I hope you are taking lots of pictures to show us this summer. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed some relaxing time. Their is nothing like a good cup of coffee, a paper and not having to get dressed to enjoy it. bye for now,

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb