Justinian the average - Blog 4 trade in baghdad


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » East » Baghdad
March 18th 1200
Published: November 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Another thing that was surprising to me in that marketplace was the vast amount of people encompassed by the empire (most of the diversity coming for the trade). I saw Christians, Jews, Zoroastrians and more. This was especially amazing considering how much struggle and strife there has been recently here over the idea of diversity, non Arabs, and others. However the “non-believers” have to pay a tax called the jizya. It is very impressive how they keep all these religions happy with each other and from constantly fighting. The one thing all of us have in common? We are all looking to trade our goods for the luxurious items that I previously mentioned Baghdad had.



I have come to a realization now that this place is unlike any place I have ever seen in its beauty, as well as its power. First of all, there is a military base right near the marketplace, which really shows me the power that their army has. I then went on with my day, and immediately I saw the illustrious mosques and memorials that surrounded the city. With the Al Rahman, Al Askari, and Umm al Qura it seems that I can’t go anywhere without seeing the wealth of Baghdad.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb