Justinian the average blog 3 - Trip to Baghdad for trade


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » East » Baghdad
February 16th 1200
Published: November 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

While I was in the market I saw many things both new and old. I saw things like crystallized sugar, spices, dinars (the form of money in the Abbasid empire) and cotton which I had seen before. But one thing I didn’t know of that caught my eye was the astrolabe. It was a navigational device the Muslims invented that used the location of the stars to help navigation. It is simply amazing to see that one empire could come up with so many wonderful innovations! Along with these artifacts I found the ideas of mathematics that had come from the earlier Indian civilization, however very few people in Baghdad would admit it if you asked them. They adopted it as their own and now it is called the Arabic numerals, however I know it was really from India. I take pride in that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.028s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.9kb