Back in Roma for 2 more weeks


Advertisement
Europe
June 19th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Soooo, I made it home in one piece even though I was scared I would miss my flights, but I had to see the Freud meseum! Going to Alicante, Valencia, and London semi on my own was a really good thing for me - even Shannon says "you seem more chill" this coming from one of the most chill people haha! "whatever I'm over it" can be heard coming out of Shananays mouth at least once a day.

In the two days I was in London I managed to see two musicals (We Will Rock You Fri night with the girls and The Producers Sat night on my own) both of which were awesome - it was only 50 pounds for both! In addition, Jackie, Alison, and I were able to sneak fish and chips into the theater of Friday night - culture, right? On Saturday I walked across the London Bridge, bought my discounted ticket, and met up with the girls to shop before they left that afternoon. There was this sports store called LillyWhites and everything was super cheap from the sale that was going on, so I got lots of London sports gear. Then I went to Burberry and they are fixing my sunglasses and sending them back hom free of charge, yay no more breaking! Then I got a skirt and shirt from Benneton for only 15 pounds. Thennnn I was hungry so I did it - I ate at a nice restaurant on my own - woohoo!! I got salmon, which of course couldn't even come close to comparing with my dad's!

So I know what you are all thinking... why pay to go to London if all you do is shop and eat? Welllll I did do lots of other things as well, sick as I was. I went to the Natural History Museum (free = scoooore) then I had to shower and eat then see the play and have an early night. The next morning I got up early and met Ashley and Rorie, who were also in London, at the Buckingham Palace for changing of the gaurds and we got STARBUCKSSS (score again) and went to the National British Museum (it was also free!) and saw amazing things, especially since most of them had absolutely nothing to do with the UK. There were mummies - people and cats, sculptures from 1200 BC, Ramses II sculpture, the oldest piece of writing ever found called the Rosetta Stone, the chess men, and a lot of other ancient artifacts. Then I rushed over to the Freud Museum and took and illegal pic of the couch, and propped up the camera and took a pic of myself with the couch using the timer. (i love all my illegal pics, from the musicals too!)

Last night I got back to Labicana around 11:10 and unpacked, did my laundry and finally was asleep by 1:30 only tyo get up this morning at 7:30. But it was worth it because we went to U.N.'s World Food Program (WFP) which is the largest humanitarian organization in the world - 60% of it is funded by the USA. It is so sad how many people are starving and it really puts things into perspective for me. I was thinking about buying a nice Italian brand name bag like Gucci even a small one, but now that I think about what that money could be used for, I'd rather not throw it away on one bag. I am thinking about volunteering perhaps after I graduate for the red cross/WFP to help poor communities or to educate.

After WFP I went to the Sede di Roma and guess what I found! My package that Kenner sent almost a month ago!!!! yayyy haha - pics and letters and goodies from Chelsea too (thanks love 😉 ) plus dvd's that won't be viewed in Labicana b/c Jackie's comp broke somehow, we think it blew out a fuse or something I dunno.

Now it is time to go back to the apartment, take my clothes down from the line and start the paper Jackie and I need to do. Plus we have an artchitecture exam tomorrow, ahh! Hopefully this weekend I am feeling better bc we have Friday off and some of us are trying to go to Chinquatara to hike(sp??), Pisa, and Florence (again). I'll keep ya'll posted.

PS.... I was talking to a woman in my hostel in London who had been there for 5 weeks who was from Texas. She asked me "I'm sorry we haven't been speaking long enough for me to tell, are you British or American?" Haha!

Caio bellas!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb