La primera semana en España


Advertisement
Europe
September 5th 2009
Published: September 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a day and a half search for an Internet cafe, I´ve finally found one. It was a lot harder than I thought it would be...

Anyway, this is my first week in Spain, and I absolutely love it. Europeans are quite nice, and I feel very much at home here. Today, I had an interesting conversation with a man from the Dominican Republic who has been living here for 3 years. There are people here from all over. I have (apart from English and Spanish) heard French, British accents, German and many other languages.

My favorite part about Spain: It is very laid back. There is no rushing and you can actually relax. Europeans know how to do things.

Host Family: I live with a señora named Maite, who is very organic. She eats very healthy, sometimes just a salad for lunch (in Mexico, lunch is the big meal of the day and the most important), recycles and does yoga. She also gives me a ton of independence. In about a month, I will have a roommate. *Please don´t be one of those arrogant Americans I will be mentioning below.* I imagine she won´t be though, because she is also a Masters student.

Yesterday, I was in the Plaza Mayor, and I almost could not believe my eyes at the sight. It was absolutely beautiful, and the only thing that took away from it was arrogant American tourists and all the tourist shops, although I must admit that I plan on returning to those shops to send things to family and friends.

While I have plenty more to update, I must be going to dinner...We eat dinner at 21:00 here.

P.S. The metric system is not so bad. Oh, and I´m not lying when I say that I am considering becoming an ex-pat. Boosh America.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.361s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb