how a 3 hour drive becomes 6


Advertisement
Europe
May 27th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning we drove from innsbruck to lucerne or Austria to Switzerland if you like... The trip was scheduled to only take between 3 or 4 hours, ours was 6 hours of driving but 8 ours in total!

I drove today too which actually went well! Even took the little beast up to 140km per hour on the autoban!! The scary thing is you don't realise you are doing that speed till you need to slow down...

Anyway, I did well with my gears on the right hand side and not driving into walls! Although if I touched my blinker when I also needed to change gears I kept thinking that I had changed them when really I had used my left hand for the blinker hehe

Also going through the Austrian alps you do exactly that and go through them!!! They have tunnels in the mountains! Made me feel like I was going through dwarf tunnels in discworld hehe.. One tunnel was 14km long!!!

Just after the 14km tunnel our warning light for oil came up so we pulled into the next servo to call the rental car people... I think I have bad karma with cars cos it was out of oil and we had to buy new oil and now have to take it to Mercedes for it to be serviced... Sound familiar Schiller family???? Hehehe

Anyway we made it to the swiss border and I got tooted cos there were people and I didn't know what to do! Organised a sticker for the Swiss highways and found our way to lucerne... Then we had to find the hotel! Easier said than done! I think we saw all of lucerne and it's cities before finding out we were on the wrong side of the city! Finally we found our way to the hotel after 2 hours of driving in lucerne itself!

Our hotel is out of the city near the lake and surrounded by mountains.. It is absolutely beautiful! The hotel was built in the 1700's so is a bit short... There is only 3 fingers between my head and the door frame...

We went for a walk around and Thu place is just amazing... So peaceful and quiet and calming, even if it is full of allergens for me! They are worth it!

Anyway will get some pics up for you tomorrow from here and whatever we do tomorrow

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb