Lisboa, Portugal


Advertisement
Europe
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Graffiti Graffiti Graffiti

The walls were covered with graffiti and stencils! Most of them were really cool, like this one.
So, I survived my first weekend trip! We left for Portugal Thursday night and arrived safely (which I was a bit worried about with our cheap flight.... the landing was a bit rocky. haha) After getting there we attempted to find our hostel, which had a whole in the door and looked shady as hell, but in retrospect was extremely nice on the inside. Breakfast was included and we had hot water, so I couldn't complain. The location was perfect! Right near the crazy nightlife of Portugal and all the cute boutiques. We started the night off by eating an ammmmazing Indian dinner and then hit an open mic bar filled with Jack Johnson and Coldplay.... they sure do love American music here.

We came back to our hostel only to find out that our street was THE place to be. People don't party in bars there, they buy the drinks and then go out on the streets to drink.... rain or shine. It was actually a blast because since Carnaval is going on, everyone was dressed in ridiculous costumes and it was fun to meet locals. The city of Lisbon is so gorgeous and if you ever have a
Castillo de San Jorge Castillo de San Jorge Castillo de San Jorge

View from the top of the castle
chance to travel there- you should! It's a big city with a small town feel and if I spoke portuguese I would be studying there now. haha The people are wonderful and the streets are lined with cobblestone. The perfect european city.

The following day we did the whole sightseeing business and tried an authentic meal, which was much better tasting than Spain's food. We got a little bit delayed when my friend didn't buy a bus ticket and we got sent to the police station for an hour. They threatened to throw her in jail, which we couldn't understand because it was in portuguese, but eventually it got sorted out. Thank the Lord. That night we hung out around our hostel and then went to a disco called Lux. It was so much fun and there was a famous DJ playing that night, which was kind of cool to experience. We didn't get home until 8 in the morning and then woke up two hours later to do some more exploring. It was well worth the lack of sleep because we hiked up to a famous castle and spent the day exploring and shopping.

It was the
The Gang! The Gang! The Gang!

The girls at my new favorite restaurant
perfect way to start out my travels with a great group of people. My group of friends here are so great- all so different, but so much fun! I have a feeling not a whole lot will surprise me after this semester... already I have been exposed to some pretty crazy people and things.

But, now I am back in Barca and about to go catch a little bit of the superbowl with some girls that are visitng from St. Bens! This week my friends and I are going to Sitges to celebrate Carnaval.... I think we're feeling the whole flower/forest theme... we'll see though. And next weekend it is off to Madrid! Time is flying and I just want it to slow down so I can realize everything that's going on! Aye de mio!

Love you all! Besos

Advertisement



5th February 2008

portugal sounds amazing! i never got to go there but i really wanted to. your experience sounds so much fun! i miss traveling!!!
8th February 2008

You go girl!
Hello from your auntie C from Long Beach, Cali. Reading your blog I am reminded of my trip to Portugal in the early 90's. Please keep your eyes peeled for some handsome male specimans. I mean specimens! I am so happy for you to have this experience that I am sure you will remember a long time. Also, I am sending my love. Auntie C

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb