In search of the elusive Maple Leaf


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

The school behind the flat that served as Hogwart's for all the Harry Potter films. Honest.
November 1st was a bit fuzzy, and I had cabin fever as well. I needed to get out of the flat, and to be on my own. I grabbed a hoodie, my music and headed out towards the Royal Botanical Gardens, which isn't far from the flat. Just what I needed. The gardens are huge, with sections devoted to China, woodland plants, the Queen Mother, etc. etc. I walked around for a few hours and was just silent. I would have stayed much longer, but I tend to have this habit of showing up not long before closing time.

Walking through these gardens was the first time I've been remotely homesick since I left. I think most of it's due to the fact that some of the first flowers I saw were crocuses, snowdrops, cyclamens, irises....the flowers of my mother's garden. I then wandered into the woodland section, hoping to get a lucky glimpse of some tree or plant from home. I think maybe it's because Remembrance Day is coming up, and I've never been away from home for that. I'm wearing my Canadian poppy and will be at the cenotaph in a week's time.

Not being around the Canadian autumn colours may also have guided me on my walk. I mean, it's lovely here, but it's not the same (how could/why should it be). At one point in my walk I did find some amazing reds though, which soothed my hungry little soul.

I've always been far better off if I have time to myself. I don't know at what point this became so important, but as I look back on it, I've been living on my own since I was in my early 20's, minus a roommate or two along the way. I'm used to it. It's my centre. I love people, but I get this itching feeling under my blood after a couple of days if I'm never alone besides sleeping, ya know?

As of tomorrow I'll be back out on my own away from my friends for a bit. It's a good thing, and I know that a lot of my motivation will come from it. ....I'm also heading to a Flogging Molly concert tomorrow night in Glasgow!! They're one of my favourite groups, and I'm pretty stoked about it. Will be meeting up with Leanne, which should be hilarious. I'll try to write, but my internet access may be limited. Thanks again to everyone who reads, it's pretty cool to see the stats and read the comments.



Additional photos below
Photos: 122, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

On my way to the gardens I was passed by a sweaty, muddy rugby team. Life is good.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Memorial for the Queen Mother, which was lovely. Thousands of schoolchildren collected shells, and the inside is a complete mosaic, floor to celing.
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

This little guy's wearing my tartan!!!!
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Who read "The Secret Garden"....?
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

These next couple of pictures made me miss my mum.


3rd November 2008

OMG, I would DIE to have a coat like that for Eric! So COOL!
11th November 2008

Welcome Home!
First, I had to show my hubby your "Potter" pics, he loved them. Now, I have to say...maple leaves and squirrels and birches? Oh my! It really did look like home for a bit there...and don't forget that home misses you too!

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb