Ireland Pictures 7: The last day : (


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

We made one final stop on the way home for lunch. Um, don't ask me where, I am a pathetic excuse for a memory cell. This is a statue of Thomas D'Arcy McGee, a man very important to the beginning of Canada, and also the name of my favourite pub in Ottawa!!!
Black Cab tour over, we piled onto the bus for the drive back into the Republic, and Dublin. A few stops along the way and we were back in Dublin. I was quiet on the bus, plugging myself into my music for the first time that whole week. I just needed time to be with my thoughts of the last 8 days, particularly Belfast and Derry.

My love affair with Ireland wasn't as quick as it was with Scotland last year. No surprise, two different cultures, and two completely different feelings upon first experiences. I do feel that I would like to go back and explore the countryside more thoroughly, and to firmly trace any family roots there may be back there.

Having said that, by the end of the week I had caught the vicious bug that was going around the entire tour bus. My cough and chest infection from the beginning of October were back, and I was absolutely miserable. Throw in some financial challenges and a very resistant B&B owner, and I couldn't wait to get out of Ireland and back onto Scottish soil.

I have spent one whole week recovering on the couch at my friends' flat, and feel extremely grateful for it. Tomorrow I find my way into a hostel on the Royal Mile where I have managed to get free accomodation. I've set up some bartending work, and am working on getting into the local massage community before winter really sets in.

Mark arrives here in one week! I am so excited I'm beginning to dream about it. We've got a couple of things planned, but a lot of it we're just going to wing and see what happens. Meeting him at the airport is going to be more than just a little emotional, and it doesn't warrant thinking about it until the morning of.

Sorry about piling on the pictures in one 24 hour period...there's only 2 more entries to go, I promise : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

The last Team Jump photo....not very successful. Apparently my timing's off.
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Rocking Steve, who let us bear witness to his battle cries all throughout Belfast that last night.
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Our last stop was a monastary and graveyard. Fitting, as our first stop on the tour was a field of Celtic Crosses as well.


Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb