Ireland Pictures 6; Belfast. Overload.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Belfast. I don't think I can put into words my anticipation or feelings before we got there. I had heard and read the history. I've seen movies. I had spoken to people the whole tour who had been affected by "The Troubles". I'm going to try to just narrate through the pictures as my memories come back.

My friend Ben from home told me that I should do this tour, and I'm so glad that I did. Belfast was a very dark place. I loved it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 91, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Photo 1Photo 1
Photo 1

Brett living it up on our last night. We all went out to dinner and various pubs, but it was pretty low-key, considering.
Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

Jacob...before.....he got his hair straightened. Don't ask.
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Dinner! Went to a lovely restaurant near the center of town. Girls had champagne, our table had bottles of wine. :)
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Myself and Flash, our tour Pommy and amazing photographer.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Dan barrelling through a hen party. I liked the pink ears.
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Sweet, sweet cider. I know better. Went a little bit to excess this last night, but was a mixture of happiness and the feeling of imminent sadness that I knew tomorrow would bring.
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

"I Never". Again. With a bottle of wine. ....each.
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

The next day was typical north coast Irish weather: rain rain and more rain. It was also windy and cold. Perfect for taking a Black Cab tour around the city. We all got into cabs 5 or 6 at a time and went on about a one hour tour. It was mostly the murals of the city and the history that went with them. This one was a local IRA soldier who was killed in 2000.


11th November 2008

Peace
It's so amazing that the people who have been through the worst that humanity has to offer, are the ones that speak out so loudly, so freely, about peace. You'd think that they would be the most afraid but it's quite the opposite. I'm moved by the stories and names of this place.

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.1244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb