Ireland Pictures 5: Northern Ireland, the outdoors.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Derry proved to be a pretty tame night in comparison to Donegal the night before. Part of it was sheer de-toxification, and part of it was me being pensive and trying to take in everything we learned about on the tour.

The next day saw us moving into Country Antrim, and the sun was out! The agenda was busy: Dunluce Castle, Giant's Causeway and the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge before getting into Belfast, our last night on the tour.

Being outdoors was a welcome change to being on a stuffy bus, and I almost leapt off the bus at Dunluce Castle. You do get sort of "castle-d out" on these tours, but we had a really excellent guide who took us through the history and the ruins.

The Causeway was even better. Sun, spray and lots of rocks to climb. I could have stayed and explored all day, but we only had about 2 hours, so I tried to make the most of it. Got some good jump photos, saw some good waves and got a little bit of peace and quiet on my own. A rare commodity, and I hadn't realized that I'd needed it by that point. I called Mark to tell him I was thinking of him, and sat and reflected on the trip as a whole. One more night and we'd be back in Dublin (my favourite). I didn't want it to end. I'd met so many amazing people. It felt like the end of camp does every summer; happy to be done in a way, but sad at the thought of losing contact with everyone who has become your family in a very small space of time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 161, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



11th November 2008

LOL!
Too many beautiful pics to comment on but had to note the "squishing the island" pic...classic!

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb