Ireland Pictures 2: Killarney, Dingle and Galway.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 1st 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

DSCF3675DSCF3675DSCF3675

The morning after the epic Killarney evening, Sean took us out in Killarney National Park for a walk before we got on the bus. I've deduced that one of the best cures for a hangover is the cold, wet, Irish weather.
Installation #2 of my pictures of Ireland. These ones are of the morning after Killarney (ugh, kinda rough) and our journey around the Dingle Peninsula, and upwards to County Clare and the city of Galway.

Now, of course it would have been smart of me to annotate and keep track of everything we did on the trip. I did not. Some folks did, and I'm patiently awaiting a post on the Facebook group for our tour. Until then I'm relying on the pictures to jog my memory. So I'm doing my best, but parts of my brain are like a sieve. Others are like a sieve filtered through with Guinness.

An 8 day tour of a country is whirlwind, to say the least. Different town/country/bed every single night. I can totally relate to people on show tours waking up and wondering what country they're in out of genuine confusion. That being said, it gives one a very "take life by the horns" mentality, and you don't really waste any time at all once you get off that bus for the night. Not even to really think about the next morning. It's all in the now, in that moment, in
DSCF3677DSCF3677DSCF3677

The beautiful and very large Torc Waterfall.
the company and space you are in. Perhaps that's why everyone on these trips seems to mesh so very quickly. This was only our third night (one in Dingle not mentioned where I recovered from Killarney!) but it already felt like we'd been hanging out for months.

Galway was truly special. I'd heard lots and lots about it before I got there, and I even happen to posess a Celtic Cross that someone brought me back from Galway this summer. I really want to go back there and hang out some more, perhaps next year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 164, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSCF3685DSCF3685
DSCF3685

These pictures aren't really demonstrating it, but the wind was gale-force through here! Hats and scarves everywhere. Like I said, there's not much left of you after walking in this weather, headaches and swollen livers included!
DSCF3693DSCF3693
DSCF3693

Truly wild and sexy Irish countryside. I wanted to stay by the water for far longer than we did. All week I was one of the last ones back on the bus and always lamenting "But I don't WANT to get back on the bus!!!" Sometimes it was so hard, all I wanted to do was play outside.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb