Ireland Pictures


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 1st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

DSCF3541DSCF3541DSCF3541

First stop on tour was the Rock of Cashel, County Tipperary. 4th century Romanesque ruin associated with St. Patrick who was rumoured to have baptized Kings here.
I haven't written for a little while....it's been a crazy week. I'm still at my friends' flat in Edinburgh, but it's been almost a week and I feel like my time here should be over. I just don't want to wear out my welcome, and my friends are so accomodating.

For most of the week I've been fighting this brutal Irish bug. Coughing/hacking/headache/fever have been fun-don't get me wrong-, but I'm just about fed up. The good news is that it's on its way out, and yesterday was the first day I've felt semi-normal for ages.

Last night's Hallowe'en celebrations were incredible and got well and truly out of hand, as they should. I'll write more about that later, but for the moment I'm going to do the catch-up-post-a-thousand-pictures thing....I really think I should've bought a laptop before I came overseas, if for nothing else but keeping my blog up to date.

I'm going to try to make each entry equal to one day and most of the stories/narration will be on the actual pictures themselves.

I remember as I was flying into Dublin (before I had a love-hate affair with it!). It was cloudy, but Ireland and Dublin were visible from the air about 10 minutes before we touched down. I am always amazed at the way the world works, and this is no exception; my mp3 player randomly played U2 as we were descending. Song after song, not chosen by me at all. Ya gotta wonder why and how these things happen....but at the same time I'm not one to question universal perfection or reason.

Ireland WAS amazing, WAS beautiful, despite my feelings surrounding my first Dublin experience. I knew that everything would be alright once I got on the tour bus...and it was. I've made some fantastic new friends and I can't wait to go back. This entry's pictures are from Day 1 of the tour.




Additional photos below
Photos: 116, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSCF3545DSCF3545
DSCF3545

St. Patrick's Cross
DSCF3561DSCF3561
DSCF3561

I have a slight thing for Celtic Crosses. Welcome to Mecca, Sarah. Every grave and kirk yard is dominated by them, and I could spend all day there just reading them and taking pictures.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb