Ireland Pictures 3: Aran Islands


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

DSCF3855DSCF3855DSCF3855

Pre-Illness: Brett going into his trailer on the ferry. Bwa haha, so funny. Why did someone design a hoodie that does ALL the way up?
So the morning after Galway dawned bleary and dry-mouthed. Once again, the magic of social lubricant had left us a little worse for wear. Now, this is what I was alluding to when I mentioned not enough time to think about even the next morning. If I had even THOUGHT about the fact that we were getting on a ferry from Galway to Inishmor I would not have consumed quite as much as I did the night before. The bus ride to the ferry was a bit shaky. As we boarded the ferry, I didn't feel anything other than the usual lead-headed, sleep-deprived backpacker that I had encountered many times before. I even went up top, bravely facing the choppy ocean head on. I've never actually been physically seasick before, so I wasn't anticipating that it would change now.

As we left the harbour, I sipped on a cup of coffee and took in the brisk ocean air. Beautiful. I'm always happy to be on the water, and this was no exception. Once we got out of the shelter of the land though, things changed. The ride became VERY choppy, VERY rocky and extremely...wavey. At first I was right into it, yelling at the waves Lt. Dan style and yee-hawing for all I was worth. Then the captain told me to be quiet, and I'm convinced that that was my undoing. From that moment on I didn't feel so good. Matters weren't helped by Team Seattle (lovely girl from the states, first time on a boat) losing everything she'd eaten in the last 24 hours about 4 feet behind me. I was very quickly taken over by the very real concept of seasickness. We were about 3/4 of the way from the other dock and it took everything I had to not be physically ill over the side of the boat. I swear it was sheer pride that held my breakfast back. How could I go from screaming sea pirate to puking landlubber? I choked it back and then spent the most nauseating (and sober!) 24 hours afterwards on the Aran Island of Inishmor.

Once we landed and got unloaded at the hostel, the day was ours. We could hire bikes and go around the island, chill out at the hostel, shop, whatever we wanted. What I really and truly wanted to do was curl up and sleep for
DSCF3857DSCF3857DSCF3857

Pre-Illness: Me appearing seaworthy and made of steel. The truth is that about 45.2 minutes after this was taken I very very nearly lost it into the ocean. 2 years of acting school, thank YOU!
about 18 hours, but I knew that I may never be on this island again anytime soon and that I would regret not going. So I hired a bike and set out with two of the guys from the tour. It was a lovely day, just perfect for being outside. We had all sunshine until the last 5 minutes when we were taking the bikes back, and then all 7 levels of heaven opened up.

That night saw most of us retiring in the bar attached to the hostel, watching football. The highlight of the evening was a group of Dutch musicians and their impromptu music session, which fearless leader Sean got into as well. Again, just a normal building with normal people, but touched with something not so normal that was palpable in the air to any and everyone in that room. It was what you would see in an ad for Ireland Tourism; perfect black pints, everyone singing and thumping the floors/tables, no real boundaries between group's tables.


Additional photos below
Photos: 80, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

DSCF3862DSCF3862
DSCF3862

Dry land, and Inishmor in all its beauty.
DSCF3864DSCF3864
DSCF3864

Let the bike tour begin! The first half was all uphill (seems to be a theme with me, eh?) but lovely. Followed the coast of the island all the way around.
DSCF3870DSCF3870
DSCF3870

You'd think I'd do better with the locals, considering my Woodstock upbringing.


11th November 2008

Sea Legs
Well, well ,well, wifey, Welcome to the wonderful world of motion sickness! Way to tough it out tho! More breathtaking pics...love the one from the edge of the cliff...made ME feel like I was gunna fall. whoop whoop to the "trailer" hoodie...that reference brought back some memories! LOL

Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb