The Busiest Week Ever Part 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Loch Ness
March 15th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sean and I went to Loch Ness on his last day here, Saturday. We took a guided tour that went up the western part of the island to the loch and then down the middle in one day. We left at 8 in the morning and we were pretty tired as we had been out the night before. But we weren't the most tired people and some kid fell asleep before we even started to leave. The tour guide was some young guy who was kind of annoying but knew a lot of good stuff. We stopped at a bunch of places on the way there including Glencoe, the place where the highland clans supposedly died out after a big fight between two clans and the end of highland hospitality. It's kind of complicated so I'm not going to explain but basically this place was a giant valley in the highlands. There used to be a town in the valley before everyone was killed in the fight but it's this huge place with giant mountains and it was FREEZING. There was snow on all the mountains and there was probably 50 mph winds. We also stopped at this war memorial that was a big statue in the highlands. I guess the highlands is where all the special forces for the British army train because if you can survive living in the highlands you can survive anything. While we were at the monument all these green bare drove up to see the statue and they were all freaking out and running around because of the cold and rain. I guess they didn't train in Scotland. The tour guide was making fun of them the whole rest of the trip especially when we saw one of them running away from the rest, probably going AWOL.

So we finally got up to Loch Ness after about 4 and a half hours. It was... a really big lake and it was freezing out. The town we were at was just this little place with almost nothing in it and all the touristy stuff was closed. We only stayed at the loch for about an hour because there was nothing to do but take pictures. Some annoying American girls insisted on getting in the lake which I personally think is the dumbest thing I've ever heard. Why would you walk into a lake in the middle of the Scottish winter with no shoes on especially when the water is black because it has all this peat in it, and ESPECIALLY when there could be a monster in it? Okay so kidding about that last part but I'm pretty sure those girls suffered the whole rest of the time we were there because of it. So we got back on the bus and went to Edinburgh where the rugby game had finished and those who had spent the day in the bar watching the game met up with the thousands of people who were at the stadium watching the game. I've never seen so much green in my life, it was like Ireland took over Scotland for the weekend and invaded the street that I live on specifically. Sean and I didn't even try to go out. We got home around 7 and there were already huuuge lines at the bars we had been at the night before. We ordered some delicious indian food and relaxed the whole night. That was something really nice we did, we made or bought really good food all week. Sean loved the fish and chips so unfortunately I had to have that a few times but we also made fajitas and chilli and went to this really nice restaurant and had french crepe things. It was really fun.

So Sunday Sean left and got home just fine and I went back to doing work. Well really I started watching Grey's Anatomy and haven't really stopped. Seriously, I'm waiting for an episode to load right now. I have an essay due next week which is very annoying but at least it's the last. Yes by this time next week I'll be hours away from the end of the semester. I CAN'T WAIT! I'm so sick of doing work all the time. That's the problem I have which school, I go to lectures all day and then work all night. I need a break! So good thing I have a month off. And three weeks in-between my first exam and my last two. And then I'll be home. Yikes it sounds a lot sooner than it is when I say it like that. But it's true, and then I'll be back at UConn by the end of May to take summer classes. I have to make sure I can finish my double majors by this time next year or I will be seriously angry. Hence the summer courses. So all you back in Connecticut, I better see you around the SECOND I get home. And then all the time after that 😊. Still no real plans for spring break. It looks like Jenny might come here for Easter and then I'll fly back to Prague with her but I'm not certain. I'm not too into touristy travelling. I like to go some place and feel comfortable and get into a routine and live somewhere as apposed to seeing a bunch of tourist stuff. So we'll see, I probably should but I'm not sure how much travelling I really want to do. I'd like to relax for a large part of the break. And Kelly, I hope you like these pictures hahaha.

Right now it's back to work (and grey's) so I can finish this week and be done with it. I love living here but I hate the work. It's the same as UConn really, on bad semesters. It's not that the classes are all that boring and terrible because some aren't, it's just a lot to do, especially as I watch everyone else do whatever they want and no work. Oh well, I couldn't ask for a better city to be studying in! Sean and I went to Loch Ness on his last day here, Saturday. We took a guided tour that went up the western part of the island to the loch and then down the middle in one day. We left at 8 in the morning and we were pretty tired as we had been out the night before. But we weren't the most tired people and some kid fell asleep before we even started to leave. The tour guide was some young guy who was kind of annoying but knew a lot of good stuff. We stopped at a bunch of places on the way there including Glencoe, the place where the highland clans supposedly died out after a big fight between two clans and the end of highland hospitality. It's kind of complicated so I'm not going to explain but basically this place was a giant valley in the highlands. There used to be a town in the valley before everyone was killed in the fight but it's this huge place with giant mountains and it was FREEZING. There was snow on all the mountains and there was probably 50 mph winds. We also stopped at this war memorial that was a big statue in the highlands. I guess the highlands is where all the special forces for the British army train because if you can survive living in the highlands you can survive anything. While we were at the monument all these green barees drove up to see the statue and they were all freaking out and running around because of the cold and rain. I guess they didn't train in Scotland. The tour guide was making fun of them the whole rest of the trip especially when we saw one of them running away from the rest, probably going AWOL.

So we finally got up to Loch Ness after about 4 and a half hours. It was... a really big lake and it was freezing out. The town we were at was just this little place with almost nothing in it and all the touristy stuff was closed. We only stayed at the loch for about an hour because there was nothing to do but take pictures. Some annoying American girls insisted on getting in the lake which I personally think is the dumbest thing I've ever heard. Why would you walk into a lake in the middle of the Scottish winter with no shoes on especially when the water is black because it has all this peate in it, and ESPECIALLY when there could be a monster in it? Okay so kidding about that last part but I'm pretty sure those girls suffered the whole rest of the time we were there because of it. On the way home we passed this huge dam that was spilling out all its water. The reservoir had filled up and the dam was letting the water go through this enormous pipes, it was just awesome. It was probably the highlight of my trip (like my entire trip) because I’m a big geography dork haha. So we went back to Edinburgh where the rugby game had finished and those who had spent the day in the bar watching the game met up with the thousands of people who were at the stadium watching the game. I've never seen so much green in my life, it was like Ireland took over Scotland for the weekend and invaded the street that I live on specifically. Sean and I didn't even try to go out. We got home around 7 and there were already huuuge lines at the bars we had been at the night before. We ordered some delicious indian food and relaxed the whole night. That was something really nice we did, we made or bought really good food all week. Sean loved the fish and chips so unfortunately I had to have that a few times but we also made fajitas and chilli and went to this really nice restaurant and had french crepe things. It was really fun.

So Sunday Sean left and got home just fine and I went back to doing work. Well really I started watching Grey's Anatomy and haven't really stopped. Seriously, I'm waiting for an episode to load right now. I have an essay due next week which is very annoying but at least it's the last. Yes by this time next week I'll be hours away from the end of the semester. I CAN'T WAIT! I'm so sick of doing work all the time. That's the problem I have which school, I go to lectures all day and then work all night. I need a break! So good thing I have a month off. And three weeks in-between my first exam and my last two. And then I'll be home. Yikes it sounds a lot sooner than it is when I say it like that. But it's true, and then I'll be back at UConn by the end of May to take summer classes. I have to make sure I can finish my double majors by this time next year or I will be seriously angry. Hence the summer courses. So all you back in Connecticut, I better see you around the SECOND I get home. And then all the time after that 😊. Still no real plans for spring break. It looks like Jenny might come here for Easter and then I'll fly back to Prague with her but I'm not certain. I'm not too into touristy travelling. I like to go some place and feel comfortable and get into a routine and live somewhere as apposed to seeing a bunch of tourist stuff. So we'll see, I probably should but I'm not sure how much travelling I really want to do. I'd like to relax for a large part of the break. And Kelly, I hope you like these pictures hahaha.

Right now it's back to work (and grey's) so I can finish this week and be done with it. I love living here but I hate the work. It's the same as UConn really, on bad semesters. It's not that the classes are all that boring and terrible because some aren't, it's just a lot to do, especially as I watch everyone else do whatever they want and no work. Oh well, I couldn't ask for a better city to be studying in!

Advertisement



16th March 2007

I have to go back...
After seeing the pictures, I know I need to go back. The mountains are gorgeous. Now I want to see the highlands.
21st March 2007

um, greys is addicting....im glad youre in the loop now. lets watch it marathon style (i have the dvds) and cry ( i so cry almost every episode)

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb