Back to a Favorite


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Down » Bangor
November 4th 2007
Published: November 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Newcastle from a DistanceNewcastle from a DistanceNewcastle from a Distance

The town of Newcastle from the valley between Slieve Donard and Slieve Commedagh. The Irish Sea makes this a beautiful setting.
It has been a couple of weeks since my last post and for that I do apologize. However, one universal truth that one must come to understand is that no matter where one goes life eventually returns to some form of a normal routine. With that said, it isn't that the past couple of weeks haven't been wonderful but rather that I have fallen into the routine of going to the class sessions necessary for my degree and reading the required material for those respective meetings. Those things of course and running. Instead of writing in-depth entries about class lectures and debates I figured it would be best to wait and sum up a couple weeks worth of time here in Northern Ireland.

So now, quite simply, my time in Belfast since my last entry has been nothing short of grand. I have continued to meet some absolutely wonderful and unique people, and of course shared a pint or two with them. I am halfway into the semester and classes are running smoothly and have been quite interesting in their content. I actually have this week free from classes as it is labeled a 'Reading Week' which is designed for
Amongst the MournesAmongst the MournesAmongst the Mournes

Amy makes her way down the valley back toward Newcastle.
students to catch up on the necessary literature. Though I am not sure that anyone can truly catch up based on the amount that has been assigned for the 12th of November when classes resume. Regardless, I will take advantage of the extra time outside the classroom.

And of course the 'Reading Week' comes at a perfect time as my parents will arrive Tuesday evening! This will be their first visit to the island country and so I am very excited for them to take in the culture and sights. I am quite sure we will make excursions to the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills, and the Mourne Mountains.

Speaking of which, it has been a couple of weeks since I escaped the city life of Belfast for the grandeur of nature. So I decided it was time to return to a personal favorite, the Mourne Mountains. Yes, I know. This is my third post in two months that makes mention of those mountains to the southeast. However, it is safe to say that the area provides a wonderful place for reflection and rejuvination. I recommend that anyone who journeys to Ulster should take a day to enjoy the beauty
More of the MournesMore of the MournesMore of the Mournes

You can tell I can't get enough of this area!
of the Mournes. Today I made the trip with a friend of mine, Amy, who is also working toward her Master's Degree in Modern Literature. We left Belfast by bus this morning and arrived in Newcastle around 11:00 a.m. After a quick cup of coffee we made our way into the mountains where hiked the valley that runs between Slieve Donard and Slieve Commedagh (two of the mountains I visited last time). Accompanied by a slight breeze and the warmth of the sun it made for a wonderful afternoon. I must say I do look forward to taking my parents next weekend! Of course it is hard telling if the weather will cooperate. Ah yes, Irish weather, no one may predict it.


Advertisement



4th November 2007

Amy???????
Is Amy cute where are the picture,s

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb