The "Indescribable" Causeway


Advertisement
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dad and MeDad and MeDad and Me

My dad and me pose for a shot along the north coast of Ireland.
Today was nothing short of breathtaking as my parents and I ventured to the north coast of Ireland for a day at the Giant's Causeway. My parents arrived Tuesday evening for what is their first visit to the island country. So far we have had a wonderful time. Our trip today was all that I hoped they would experience.

We left from the international youth hostel this morning and made our way north by way of bus. It looked as though bad weather was certain to leave a blemish on the day. A steady rain fell from the wee hours of the morning and continued until early afternoon and a rather robust wind rocked the bus. As we neared the coast the temperature dropped and I was quite concerned that my parents were going to miss the magnificence that is the Causeway.

However, my fears proved to be wasted as the rains stopped and the sun broke through the clouds. Though we still dealt with gale force winds (60-70 mile per hour) we were fortunate to see the "eighth wonder of the world" nearly free of any other human presence. Because of the weather conditions the untamed waters of
Waves of the AtlanticWaves of the AtlanticWaves of the Atlantic

Waves crashing below the cliffs of Ireland.
the north Atlantic pounded against the cliffs and rocks of the Irish coast creating a sound of fury. As my dad said what we saw today is "indescribable." Though the weather wasn't perfect, it did create an environment and atmosphere that the three of us were beyond fortunate to witness.

I do hope that anyone who ventures to the north of Ireland make it a point to see this spectacular place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Waves Upon the StepsWaves Upon the Steps
Waves Upon the Steps

The waters of the Atlantic move over the steps of Finn McCool's ancient creation.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb