Can’t a guy get a Caffrey’s?


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Foo KinFoo KinFoo Kin

When you say the restaurant's name with an Irish accent it becomes funny. Even funnier is when you use it in a sentence: " I went to the Foo Kin restaurant last night." I did not eat there.
This morning I departed Dublin by bus and headed to Belfast. Belfast is about 2 ½ hours north of Dublin and it is the capital of Northern Ireland. Northern Ireland is located on the same island as the Republic of Ireland but is actually a part of the United Kingdom, whereas the Republic is a separate country. This distinction and that of the religious differences (the Republic is generally Catholic while Northern Ireland is generally Protestant) were the grounds for many years of violence; most notably from the Irish Republican Army (IRA).

I arrived around 1:00 pm and rucked about a half mile down to the hostel. In the rain. Which pretty much lasted all day.

After checking in, getting my things together and grabbing a quick bite to eat, I went out exploring. I walked up to City Hall, back down to Queen’s University (which is very close to the hostel) and through the nearby Botanic Gardens. Along the way I stopped at a random pub in search of Caffrey’s but ended up with a Harp and also at Belfast’s most famous establishment, the Crown Saloon, where I had a Belfast Ale from the cask. I’m a bit
Queen's UniversityQueen's UniversityQueen's University

The Lanyon Building is only 160 years old although it appears much older.
disappointed that a beer that is brewed in Belfast can’t be found here.

The University and the Gardens were both beautiful. The Lanyon Building, the University’s main and oldest building, dates only to 1849 but, architecturally, it certainly appears much older.

The Gardens are located just south of the University. The highlight for me was the Rose Garden, a garden that looks to be larger than half a football field filled with many different colors of roses, which were accented by pristine green grass.

Once I finished in the Garden (around sunset), I grabbed a quick dinner and hit the rack early since tomorrow is a long run day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Botanic GardensBotanic Gardens
Botanic Gardens

A view down one of the Garden's many paths.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb