Sorry for the long delay


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Belfast
January 24th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Loyalist Mural in BelfastLoyalist Mural in BelfastLoyalist Mural in Belfast

My hostel was in loyalist Sandy Row, indicated by this intimidating mural. An Australian guy on leave from Iraq couldn't believe I dared take pictures of the murals.
Sitting in Belfast International so I'll make this short. I couldn't get on to Travelblog due to the way the computers in the last hostel were set up. I made it to Belfast just fine.

I got to see the political murals in both Belfast and Derry/Londonderry (my hostel was firmly in Loyalist territory, indicated by a mural a block down and the curb being painted red white and blue). I also saw the Giant's Causeway yesterday and the Bushmills distillery (as part of a guided tour).

Belfast is an amazing place which I expected to be a short diversion. I met and hung out with a large group of Australians (they weren't together, but by some bizarre coincidence there were an enormous amount of Australians at the hostel in Belfast, some on working holidays, some just passing through). I'd love to come back and work here if I could get a job, or, more difficultly, a working visa.

Anyway, my trip is just about over, as I'll be in Rome today and tommorow back home. I'll upload a lot of photos when I come home and sum up the trip. If you have any questions please post
Roman BathsRoman BathsRoman Baths

The ancient Roman Baths in the city of Bath, 2 hours from London.
them here. Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Causeway CoastCauseway Coast
Causeway Coast

The coast of North Ireland.
Giant's CausewayGiant's Causeway
Giant's Causeway

Me in front of some of the 40,000 hexagonal basalt columns along the Giant's Causeway on the North Irish coast.
Volcanic ColumnsVolcanic Columns
Volcanic Columns

More of the curious volcanic columns on the Giant's Causeway.
Free DerryFree Derry
Free Derry

This sign in Derry/Londonderry (which name you choose for the city is political) indicates the area is Separatist and claimed to be part of the Republic of Ireland.


26th January 2007

Heading to Derry/Londonderry
Something I forgot to mention in my hasty post: when you take the road to Derry/Londonderry, pretty much every road sign is vandalized to indicate political tension: Seperatists will paint over the word "London" in Londonderry so only Derry is seen.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb