Madame Tussaud's is a rip-off


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 19th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Karl Marx's GraveKarl Marx's GraveKarl Marx's Grave

Karl Marx's Grave in the Highgate Cemetary in London. Ironically, it is a tourist attraction requiring admission, and is so big it has left other smaller graves obscured and ruined.
Yesterday I went to Highgate Cemetary to see the grave of Karl Marx. It cost £2 to enter the cemetary. I can't believe they have the nerve to charge for a cemetary. Anyway, I then went to Westminster Abbey. I wanted to do the London Eye (big ferris wheel in case you don't know), but it was still closed despite the fact the annual repairs were supposed to be done by then. Hopefully it will be open tonight. Instead, I went to go see Stomp, another play I could have seen at home, but again, I got a great student discount and it was a spectacular performance.

Today I was thinking of going out of the city to see other things, but I decided it was a bit too late to find intercity train tickets and go through the hassle, so I'll save it for tomorrow (either Bath or Dover/Canterbury, the latter two are close by). I instead decided to go to Madame Tussaud's, which, while not bad, was awful in price: £25. It was way too short for the pricetag and I regret going, as my money could have been much better spent. I briefly went back into the
Westminister AbbeyWestminister AbbeyWestminister Abbey

The front of Westminister Abbey.
National Gallery, and saw some works by Monet, Van Gogh and Picasso. Now I'm sitting in the hostel, not sure what I'll do for the rest of the day. I do need to look up train tickets however for tommorow. So bye for now all, I've got one week before I return home, and two days before I hit Belfast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Big BenBig Ben
Big Ben

Big Ben by day at the Houses of Parliament.
The Beatles at Madame Tussaud'sThe Beatles at Madame Tussaud's
The Beatles at Madame Tussaud's

The Beatles live again in wax form.
London EyeLondon Eye
London Eye

The world's largest ferris wheel.
High-tech SushiHigh-tech Sushi
High-tech Sushi

Yo! Sushi, a sushi restaurant in London which delivers food right to your seat by conveyer belts.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb