Born Free!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Sussex » Horsham
December 17th 2008
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’ve finally made it all across the world to England! My head’s in a spin; I can’t believe the distance I’ve travelled on this historic journey. I am now in the hands of another truly beautiful soul, Virginia McKenna, who starred as Joy Adamson in the immortal classic “Born Free”. Since the days of making that unforgettable film, Virginia and her late husband Bill Travers established the Born Free Foundation (which you can read more about here: http://www.santersghostwriting.com/xl%20files/XL_Virginia.pdf).

Today Virginia spends her time travelling the world (a bit like me) trying to leave the world a little better with each step she takes. I am truly honoured to be visiting this gracious and caring lady, who has been awarded an OBE (Order of the British Empire) for her charity and entertainment contributions to the world.

There are photos of Elsa the lioness everywhere, and everywhere there are also examples of how the Born Free Foundation has helped other beautiful creatures live in dignity and freedom. What a wonderful woman. Thank you, Virginia, for being a part of my journey.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb