Shattered Dreams


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Stourbridge
April 5th 2014
Published: April 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Woolly says – our lives had been settling down nicely, Ian had been feeling a little unwell so we decided to try out the Turkish hospital facilities. Boy do they move fast! As soon as blue books appeared we were whisked away and Ian was plugged onto machines, x rays were underway and before I even had a chance to check out the nurses we were seeing a consultant. He busily showed us the results of the tests declaring that Ian’s heart was fine but he wanted to put a shunt in that afternoon, I got rather confused at this point having seen shunts on the railway lines I couldn’t work out how that would fit into Ian’s chest and hadn’t he just told us that his heart was working well!



Like Woolly we felt slightly bemused and so rather than jump onto the operating table we wandered home and looked at natural remedies to combat what appeared to be acid indigestion or something similar.



Woolly says – Ian didn’t seem to be improving under our watchful eyes, in fact he seemed to be getting thinner and Jo being the worrier she is, took drastic action and booked plane tickets for us to return to the UK and get him checked over properly. I volunteered to stay at home and guard the apartment while watering the vegetation on the balcony, my request was denied so I found myself packing my winter clothes as we set off for the airport. As we said our goodbyes to Mustafa, Ali and Maria I begged to be allowed to stay and help in the restaurant but as usual I was ignored and spent the next six hours whooshing my way across the miles to the wonders of Gatwick. After a few winks of sleep we made our way to the nearest hospital and while I entertained myself with trying to get a snack from the vending machine Ian was prodded, poked and photo’d from different angles. He didn’t look best pleased at the bounty of tests they seem to be carrying out, I offered to bang his knees with a lovely hammer I had found but that didn’t even raise a smile. Then much to my distress the doctors told us that he was going to be admitted and that Jo would be looking after me!!!!!



As the next few days unfolded so did the test results, daughter Zoe came to join us as the very worst of news was delivered, cancer of the esophagus and liver and nothing that could be done to save him.



Woolly says – With our dreams and lives shattering around us Jo hired a car – oh how I miss Ollie – and we headed to Stourbridge and the wonderful staff of Mary Stevens hospice. With our closest friends and family around us, food parcels arrived with tasty treats and as Jo and Zoe didn’t seem to want much of the delights on offer I kept things tidy by consuming everything that came. We spent the last couple of weeks sitting in the sun, holding hands and paws and talking quietly to my hero leaving a trail of tissues in our wake as we showered Ian with love. We talked and laughed and remembered our adventures, the places we had found and the delights of the sausages consumed.



Ian died peacefully in the early hours of Monday 1st April 2014 with Zoe, Woolly and myself holding him.



Woolly says – Words can’t express our thoughts and feelings, people keep asking what we are doing to do, a question that none of us has an answer to at the moment. With the wonderful Dave, Sammy and Ray helping us to organise the necessary details we only know that we will head home and see what the world sees fit to bring us next, what we do all know is that we can never replace the wonderful man that we will be leaving behind.

Advertisement



5th April 2014

Shattered dreams
My heart breaks while reading this touching tribute. Our thoughts our with you. Words never come easy in these situations. We are surrounding you with white light and hugs.
5th April 2014

Many Thanks
Thank you for your kind words and thoughts xx
5th April 2014

to my friends smelly girl Zoe, Jo and Woolly Mammoth
Bestest bestest friend - I have got water coming out of my eyes reading what you have written about Ian and your adventures . Jen found you through Travelblog and I found we had the same interests- facts, enjoying ourselves, pistachio nuts , Jaffa cakes and being a handful for our carers JenGog and Glenn and Ian and Jo. Your tales of Georgie and the wind in Belgium at first made me smile and we compared your trips with ours in Suzy. And then Ollie and his trip across Europe to Turkey. We had fun at Kiddy station and Attingham Park in the summer when we met . Jen says she cant believe just how much has happened since then. Big hug from all of us but best of all from me Sion your bestest friend to my bestest friend Woolly Mammoth xxx
5th April 2014

Thank You Bestest Fiend
So much fun and so many happy adventures xxx
5th April 2014

Shattered dreams
As Dave and Merry say, words don't come easily in these kinds of situations. A touching blog written in such a simple and loving way. One thing that really comes through from your blog is how much Ian was loved and will be missed by you. We are so sorry to hear of your loss and our thoughts are with you and your family during this difficult time. x
5th April 2014

Many Thanks
The hardest blog to write but I'm glad it came across ok. Thank you for your kind thoughts and words xx
5th April 2014

I am so sorry for your loss
My father died of cancer. I remember how devastating it was to hear that nothing could be done. My heart goes out to you...
5th April 2014

Thank You
It's so terrible when you are told there is no hope xx
5th April 2014

Facebook Friend
I never meet Ian but we were friends on Facebook. I knew I had not seen him on it a long time and I am very sorry. your blog made me cry, it was so sweet. Please remember the good times it will get you through the bad ones. from Pfafftown, North Carolina. God bless you all.
5th April 2014

Thank You
We are holding on tightly to our memories xx
5th April 2014

Incredibly sad news
Wonderfully shared. Can't begin to imagine what you and Zoe must be going through. A fine man taken far too soon. Take care of each other x x
5th April 2014

I'm so very sorry to hear of Ian's passing...
you were just settling down at the end of a big transition, with so much to look forward to living in Turkey. Your TB family's prayers go with you as you now make a more difficult transition without Ian. I'm glad you are able to meet with JenGog and Sion, and hope that friendship continues. Please drop us a line occasionally to let us know how you are doing.
6th April 2014

Many Thanks
I am so glad that we managed to do what we did last year, JenGog and Sion have been brilliant. Woolly and I will let you know how things go.
5th April 2014

So sorry for your loss
These lovely photos and your heartfelt words convey the wonderful man that Ian was and the difficult last part of your lives together. How wonderful, though, that you could all be together in the end! Best wishes getting through this difficult time and finding your next step. My thoughts and love are with you.
6th April 2014

Thank You
Thank you for your thoughts, it was a very difficult blog to write but I wanted to honour him as well as letting people know what had happened xx
5th April 2014

Words are not enough
Like Josevich, my father also passed away from cancer - a very aggressive brain tumor to be exact. Within seven months of being diagnosed, he was gone. Even though I never met Ian (only on Facebook), this news really shook me - so I cannot conceive what it did to you. My warmest and most supportive thoughts are with you at this time. Look to the future, the sun will still rise tomorrow, though it may not appear as bright and warm as it was last week or month. Hope we meet one day and whilst you chat to my mascots - Polly, Sheba and Lenny - Jo and I can chat about life and travel. Take care.
6th April 2014

Many Thanks for your words
Your words abut the sun are so true and although we are still in shock at the speed in which this has happened we will remember that. Woolly says that he looks forward to seeing your mascots one day and comparing notes on snacks and journeys.
5th April 2014

So sorry
I am so sorry for your loss Jo. I've never been through anything like this so I can't even begin to imagine what you and your family Are going through. I trully am sorry and I hope being with your family can be a bit of a comfort. All the best.
6th April 2014

Thank You
Thank you for your thoughts xx
5th April 2014

Jo, Zoe, Woolly,
The image of all of you holding Ian in his last moments moved me to tears. Though it is unfair that he is gone with such short notice, he must have felt so lucky knowing you were by his side. I hope enduring memories of him as a wonderful husband, father, and hero will support you in your catharsis.
6th April 2014

Thank you for your kind words
We all feel so lucky to have had Ian in our lives, it is so difficult when you lose the person that has been the world to you but the memories that we made together will live on xx
6th April 2014

Words can't express our thoughts and feelings
Ian was one of the characters of the Travelblog community. He will be sorely missed. Thank you Jo for the courage to share this devastating moment with your friends in the ether. Rest in Peace Ian...you are sorely missed but you will be long remembered.
6th April 2014

Thank You
Ian was always the kindest most thoughtful of men and very unassuming, he would be amazed at the wonderful comments people have made and the amount of respect that he was held in.
6th April 2014

Shattered dreams
Thank you for sharing this lovely tribute. My aunt died late last year of cancer, a week after diagnosis. Tears run down my face knowing what you are going through right now. The storm will never pass, but I hope that at least one day, eventually, you learn to dance in the rain.
7th April 2014

Many Thanks
You always think you have time but like yourself it ran out to quickly. It is very much one day at a time xx
8th April 2014

That is a beautiful and moving tribute Woolly. Our hearts go out to you in your time of sorrow. They say when those we love become memories that those memories become a treasure. Take some comfort from having the most valued treasure in that respect. All our love, hugs and kisses. Paul (Zeeb), Gem, Jess & James xxxx
10th April 2014

Thank You
Thank you, it was lovely to see you on Tuesday and hopefully we can all catch up again soon but in better circumstances xxx
25th April 2014

Don't really know what to say...
...but I can empathise with you. Our last trip to the UK was to be with my sister who had been diagnosed with cancer. We were fortunate enough to be with her when she died. I still miss talking with her. Life does move on but there will always be a space where he was.
25th April 2014

A beautiful blog
Jo it must have been hard to write this, but thank you for sharing with us. I've been thinking of you. Hugs xx
25th April 2014

One of the worst bits
I miss the talking so much, having been with each other 24/7 for so many years it's very strange.
25th April 2014

Thank You
It wasn't easy but we have to start somewhere, Ian would have loved the photo opportunities.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 26; qc: 41; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb