Exploring my New Town


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Bury Saint Edmunds
August 16th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So I have a job! My dream job at that and it is in the most beautiful area. With work due to start in about two weeks I was on the hunt for a flat, and although my trip to Bury St Edumunds wasn't successful on the flat front it was great to see around the region that would soon be my home.

Bury St Edmunds is about 1 1/2 hours from Biggleswade but it seems a longer drive than that. I had heard it was a 'destination point' and now I know why. The history here dates back to the 12th century! The town is much larger than I thought....for some reason I always imagine small wee villages with cobbled streets. Well, Bury has the cobbles streets, but it is quite developed and has grown over the years with a large shopping mall etc. The main attraction in Bury St Edmunds is the Cathedral and the Abbey Gardens in the centre of the town. The gardens are home to the original Abbey ruins and it is really cool to invision how it used to be, it would have been massive! The original walls are still up which would have protected the village within. Over the years the Abbey has been built upon and Bury now has a very impressive cathedral in the middle of town. Once again we timed it right and the "Festival of Flowers" was on so the gardens were imaculate, very beautiful; when we when into the Cathedral the choir was practicing their thing so once again it was nice to hear that when looking around.

The town itself is nice and has great shopping. There is an older bit that has heaps of cafes and restuarants which leads up to the newer shopping area with a movie theatre etc. I think I'll have everything I need and it's only 1 hour on the train to London for visits. I'm sure I'll have more to say about the area when I get more aquainted with it, but I'm looking forward to starting my new job....and hopefully by then I'll have a roof over my head!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



25th August 2012

Loving reading your blog
We are loving reading your blog - thanks so much for getting us all in on the excitement! Must admit I looked up Bury St Edmunds on google maps to see where you are... and thought "way out there!" Keep in touch - we're still deciding our through England route... but Sam now wants to go to Birmingham to the Jaguar factory!! Love to you both... hope you're not getting too sunburned - you're always wearing "summer stuff" - hard to imagine here these past 2 weeks .
26th August 2012

Great news about the job, great photos, thank you.
We have had the UK map out and pinpointed where you are. Hope the flat hunting is successful, and to commence the job soon too. It is working out so well for you both. Love always.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb