Nuns, Buses and Crabs


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
September 11th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Black Pepper Crab at Boat QuayBlack Pepper Crab at Boat QuayBlack Pepper Crab at Boat Quay

This is the only meal I've ever ordered that you get a waiter insisting you were plastic protection!!
Well at last I'm on my way, though I did have a bit of a fright when the lady who checked me onto to my flight, offered me a full refund on my flight ticket if I couldn't prove I was leaving Singapore within 3 months. A prebooked bus ticket was not good enough for her, on no, booked flights only are accepted. Having got through the ticket hiccup I resisted duty free, which for me is unknown, (OK I bought a disposable watch, which I know the mossy killer DEET will disolve by the end of my travels) I borded my plane and discovered I was sitting with a couple of nuns. My they get a lot of special attention on a flight and some of it spills over to their neighbours:-). Nice !!!
After a quick kip at my hotel in Singapore, I got myself onto a bus for a quick trip to the Marine and Boat Quay area to delight my taste buds with some local delicasies. I can highly recommend the black pepper crab. However, it did unnerve me when the waiter arrived with a massive plastic pinny to wear whilst I wrestled with each claw. Having
Lovely fan Palm TreeLovely fan Palm TreeLovely fan Palm Tree

If only I could get this fan in my handbag, then I wouldn't look like I'd just had a bucket of water thrown over me.
now eaten one, I understand the need for plastic protection :-)
Have to say the transport here is fab and frequent and when I hadn't got the right change ($1.20), a really lovely lady paid my fare - how good is that!!!!!!!

Advertisement



11th September 2009

I'm so excited for you!
Lovely to hear your first blog from distant shores - sounds fab already! Do keep you blog up and tell us every little detail. The crab looks wonderful and I don't even like crab. Lucy x
11th September 2009

Bloody brilliant mother!!!!! :) Can't wait to see you in 12 weeks!!! xxxxx
11th September 2009

It looks fab, I bet your still buzzing with excitement!!!!! Take care and I'll look forward to future installements of with buns and nuses or something like that!
12th September 2009

crab
was the crab as delicious as it looked? I am just opening a tin,it will definately not taste like the real thing.luv m
13th September 2009

Your journey
Hi Jilly Sounds as though you are having fun already. At least sitting next to the nuns was actually a bonus, love the pictures and the black pepper crab looks delicious. It all looks very civilised at the moment. I guess the other part, leeches and such like are still to be looked forward to. I'm off to Cornwall next weekend a bit different to your trip. I am employed at college now from the 7/9 so I have had my first week which as always, flies by. At this rate you will be on your way back in a blink, only joking. Hope you have a really good experience and I look forward to hearing from you as it unfolds. Take care and have fun !!! Looking forward to your next message. Love Lynne x
14th September 2009

your there
Hey Jilly So glad you made it ok. Wish other people would pay our travel fares everyday lol. Sound like you had fun crab wrestling haha. The pic looks fab and i am sure you will have a fab time. Take care and keep safe TTFN Amie xx
14th September 2009

soooo jealous
Looks fab....shame I didn't fit into your suitcase. Have a great time. Hope you are looking forward to all those leeches. :) Can't wait for your next installments of adventures. xx
14th September 2009

The crab meal looks deliscious.
Have a great time Jill. Wish we were with you. Dawn, Steve and James (next door).
15th September 2009

Looks and sounds fab - wish I was with you! Looking forward to your next instalment. Mags x
15th September 2009

Good to hear you managed to get that flight. Sounds like things have got off to a great start. Keep enjoying. x
23rd September 2009

Happy Birthday
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_NxGElO1cWoI/SiXrFW17pQI/AAAAAAAAAPg/tNU1qAQyOHw/s400/ChocolateBirthdayCake.jpg Happy Birthday Jilly!!!!! Seen as your not here we'll eat the cake for you! Hope your having a fab time and looking after yourself. Jamie xxx

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb