Taxi's, Backpacks and Temples


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Fishy FeetFishy FeetFishy Feet

These little Doctor fish are giving my feet a quick pedicure.....and it feels luuuuuuuurvely :0)
OK - So I know I won't be blogging a lot when I get into Borneo, so I'm getting it in whilst I can. You all know i like to do things out of the ordinary from time to time, but just take a look at my feet in this piccy. The doctor fish nibbling at my feet are not only cleaning them, but they are nibbling away all the dead skin to leave feet feeling lovely and soft......and clean as a whistle....not to mention relaxed. Tara, if you get some of these in your fish tank, I'll never miss another book club again😊
I like Singapore, but nothings out of place. There is a distinct absence of 'street mess' and I'm not just talking about chewing gum on the pavement (banned in this city when they cleaned it up). No, I'm talking odd bits of litter, dirty stains on the pavement, homeless people kipping in door ways. Nope none of that here. My Nan would have loved it - nothing out of place.
I always think taxi drivers in any city tell you how it is from the ground up, so when I caught a taxi to the train station
MerlionMerlionMerlion

This little lion is the symbol of Singapore
to travel to Malacca, the Singapore taxi driver was no different. 'Ah ah going to Malaysia are you. Avoid talking to any one there, they all lie and they poison you. Taxi drivers will cheat you out of more money, the street hawkers will feed you bad meat and they are all corrupt. Why are you going there?' Fortunately, he didn't put me off going north and I boarded my train, got into the right coach and seat and everything. Even sorted out my border control pass and all for the unbelievable price of 7 british pounds for a 4.5 hour train ride - that's a third of the cost of the taxi fare to the station that took 10 mins, need I say more!!!!!
I got off the train in Tampin and was promptly spotted and targeted by one of those corrupt taxi drivers that was going to over charge me. 'You want taxi, going to Malacca?' Indeed I am I said. 'Good I have taxi, 70MYR is price OK?', yes that's great said I, thinking, mmmm I think that's what the price should be according to the lonely planet (by the way, you're advised to 50MYR). So, having
Gateway to Jonker Street - MalaccaGateway to Jonker Street - MalaccaGateway to Jonker Street - Malacca

This is where all those posh interior designers get their antiques.
skillfully negotiated the price (or not), my back pack started to make its way down the concourse with the taxi driver, who promptly threw it into his car boot (which I have to say nearly gave the poor sod a hernia with its weight), then he just mentioned in passing that his taxi was hot. It wasn't until I sat in it that I realised I hadn't caught a taxi but a furnace to Malacca. By the time I got to my hotel, I was medium rare. The taxi driver in Singapore never mentioned anything about being cooked alive!!!!!
A word about my idea of backpacking. I have caught a fare few taxi's so far on this trip, but I promise you, this will truly cease when my daughter joins me, but for now, they sort of comfort me. The thought of falling over backwards whilst being strapped into my backpack scares me somewhat, as its currently so heavy with stuff I'll need in Borneo, If I do fall over, I'll end up like one of those turtles that keeps spinning on its back cause it can't get back on its feet.
If you like really old streets that look
Chinese Temple - MalaccaChinese Temple - MalaccaChinese Temple - Malacca

I wish you could smell and hear this piccy, the chimes and burning essence is really lovely.
like something out of an old Chinese movie from the 50's, you'd love Malacca. Its full of old shop houses that date back to the early 1800's and has a different temple on every corner for as many mainstream religions as you can think of. Its great, the food is great and the people are really lovely. Its been a shipping port since the late 1300's where 1st of all the Chinese set up shop, followed by the Portuguese in 1511, who shipped spices to Europe from here. Then the Dutch took their share and finally the British took over, when Stamford Raffles sorted out the straits treaty (and for those of you who celebrate ye olde Pirates day on the 19th Sept - the Malacca straits has a lot more Pirates than Cornwall these days). So you can imagine what some of the old towns architecture is like, and staying in China town - the oldest part - is the best. Its at this point I'd like to say hi to the lovely Australians I met in one of the great places to eat in China town. Thanks for your company and good conversation - and the introduction to
Shop houses - MalaccaShop houses - MalaccaShop houses - Malacca

It's a real treat to wander around one of these buildings
the best ice cocnutcream pudding I've had in ages. Time to pack and off to Kuala Lumpur. Whooooop whoooo citin!!!!!!!

Advertisement



17th September 2009

pudding
Dear Jill the temples look lovely and well kept,they say the food is great in china town.Don't eat too much of that ice coconutcream pudding though or you will not be able to carry that heavy back pack.Enjoy Kuala Lumpur and have a safe journey,we hope everything is to your expectations.I know you will write when you can,we look foreward to your messages.Take care ,hope you got our last message,luv dad & mum xxx
18th September 2009

Singapore Slings
Hi JIll, Yes all taxi drivers lie. I have found it best to try and get one to take you on the meter. (Most don't like it since they want to rip you off!) My mother was just in Singapore doing here missionary doctor bit again. Back today actually! Small world. Hey did you get a chance to try a singapore sling in Raffles bar? If you do try it. It is a really unique place and hark back to our colonial roots. Dave
18th September 2009

Hi Jill, it's great to read what you've been up to. The nuns and the crab had me in stitches, only you could end up sat next to two nuns!!!! I hope you enjoyed the crab it looked delicious. It sounds like you are having a brill time and I look forward to reading more. Have a brill time and enjoy every minute. Ruth xx
18th September 2009

No no.. I promise.. There'll be the odd taxi! ;) But only if you make some of that coconut ice cream when we get back!!!! Love u xxx
21st September 2009

lovely to meet you
Hi Jill, Glad you liked the cendol. I will write about our time in Melaka soon (got back from Malyasia late last night) so next time you have internet access check out the website http//confessionsofafoodnazi.blogspot.com Have fun in the wilds of Borneo. Gill
24th September 2009

Happy Birthday!
Hello Mrs - glad you're really enjoying your adventure. Hope you're having a good birthday whereever in the world you are.... Not sure about the feet eating fish but I'll see what I can do ;-) Take care Tx
25th September 2009

You're painting some fascinating pictures :)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb