Patience is a virtue.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having expected to be in Sheffield for 7 days it has actually been 14 and still counting.The tyres mended the next problem was apparently no electrics to fridge('tho gas runs it!). Unfortunately though I had my suspicions whilst at Kells there was no real time to do much and so I crossed over and hoped.I should have known better.The other major problem revolved around yet more delay from Dolmen. Having messed me up re covernote, the same day a letter arrived saying the documents would follow.Contact with Kells confirmed that they had had no such docs so I tried ringing Dolmen.The holiday weekend and then no answer held me up and I asked Sam for a name from off the letter.On 16th with all other work done I rang and Sarah was to get back to me - she didn't.Yet again I rang today and eventually discovered that they'had a backlog' .She agreed however to post it today to Brett's address.I won't hold my breath!!So what else?Tax are currently processsing 4/5 requests(3 days now) and I have written to them asking them to despatch it to Brett's if not already gone. (Richard I hope this brings U up 2 date).

However I have to say that my enforced longer stay has actually become something of a holiday.I have visited old childhood friends and spent longer with Jan and John than ever before. I have even done 2 weeks at Jan's linedance class!!Could be a 3rd at the rate things are going (even tho' J+J are away to Pembrokeshire next week.)
I have also seen quite a lot of B+K so I have been enjoying myself. Another first was buying a £2.70 ticket and riding on trams and buses to see (and photograph) sights and sounds of Shefield.Quite an experience but not as taxing on the 'little grey cells' as expected.Missed out on Kelham Island museum but saw the revamped Weston Park Museum.Well worth a visit if ever in Shefield.

Couldn't finish this turbulent time without a special mention to Rotherham Caravans,Bawtry Rd. Having managed to blow all electrics (whilst checking out fridge) they looked after me very well and only charged me £12 for righting the problem. Plus they were extremely welcoming and efficient.A nice change .They even gave me 2 spare back door keys and suggested I would find things easier if I got the gear-linkage greased.I hope to get this done through a contact of Bretts.

It seems possible now with luck (not my forte!) that I might depart for Dover early next week. Wish me well. Please exert any influence with higher powers if you have any!! Supergran.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb