Will I ever get away


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

reparing the wheelreparing the wheelreparing the wheel

The camera never lies
Well I found the lights, negotiated the A75 and kipped down in one of the lay-bys.Bed is very comfy.3 hours later I made my way down to Westmorland Farms services(M6)(tremendous decor worth a visit)where I supped on coffee,donut and toasted T cake then travelled on to Cheshire making for Deva orchids.1 diversion later and circuitous routing I purchased several orchids and went on to Joan and Den's.Had a lovely long visit and they accompanied me to the M56 to make for Sheffield.Having given me a correct route I appear to have pocketed it and then thought Joan had kept it(appologies).Also whilst taking it down I misheard M6 rather than M60(another senior moment that because I needed petrol resulted in going all the way back to Charnock Richards Services then via M62 to M1.!) Highly annoyed with myself and not a little tired I headed for Sheff N exit .1mile from the turning the rear left tyre was sliced open as wire insides came thru and I struggled to make it to the hard shoulder.Luckily I was in the inside lane ready for the exit.This was the next major problem as it is not advised to change wheels on the hard shoulder of a motorway !partic.when you have never done it on this vehicle and it is missling with rain. Obviously first thing was to explain to Jan why I was late and see if she could get help to change it. Unfortunately only 1 word in 3 or 4 could be heard but eventually I understood that a friend of a friend could help and was coming(approx 20 mins).I thanked her and began to get spare out and jack also.The handbook provided jack-up point so I set to work. Suddenly I saw a car and caravan pull in and a super samaritan asked could he help. I phoned Jan for Ian's no. to attempt to stop him coming out (successful) and greatfully accepted the offer. The fun begins. Firstly jacking up using special point only managed to open the suspension spring,leaving the wheel on the ground.Good one Talbot!!Obviously the next thing was to use the spring as the jack point and I took over to help out in the'damaged knuckle stakes '. At least the wheel was rising and soon new spare was on. He explained that the one that failed was a remould and should never have been on it.The spare was unevenly worn and this following a recent MOT and RAC service.Can it get any better? Thanking him profusely and eventually being able to give him a tener I greatfully continued on my way ,my good samaritan blocking the inside lane to get me out!!Bless him. Jan had a super meal ready and at long last my long day was over as a bath and bed beckoned. The next entry will cover the dates from 4/5 to todays date, and proof of my trials on the motorway will be added to this if I can find out how to add a photo!!More anon, supergran

Advertisement



Tot: 0.54s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb