LUGGAGE HIGHS AND LOWS


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Southampton
January 11th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LUGGAGE HIGHS AND LOWS

This morning was one of those days of euphoric highs and disgusted lows.

The cabin steward woke me up at the regular hour of 8 AM with my juice, coffee and croissant and after watching the morning TV and getting myself together (which means which borrowed clothes do I wear today), I went up to breakfast in the dining room and told the waiter to bring me a “full English breakfast”. This consists of 2 fried eggs, English bacon, a Wiltshire sausage, baked beans, mushrooms, a fried tomatoe, home fries and toast. Yummers !!!!!!!

When I got back to the cabin, my telephone light was on indicating a message, so I called the Purser’s Desk and was told my luggage had been found and I could go up there to get the confirmation. I literally ran up the 2 decks where the young lady assistant purser gave me some papers which said my luggage had been found! Oh happy day!!!! Euphoria !!!! “When would I get it?” I inquired. She looked at the paperwork and said “it will probably be in your cabin on Sunday afternoon. Wow….3 days with my own
Clothes. I’ll change
ANOTHER COCKTAIL PARTYANOTHER COCKTAIL PARTYANOTHER COCKTAIL PARTY

MOST FORMALSHIPO ON THE ATLANTIC
clothes 3 times a day to be able to say I wore it on the trip !!!!!

Off to the WiFi hot spot to share this wonderful news with the world…..but check the email first. Oh…..what’s this…..an eMail from Louis. Well, Louis drove by the house and found my large suitcase sitting on the front stoop with a FedEx label, no signature and no other information. He quickly picked it up and put in his vehicle….then sent me an eMail to that effect. THANK YOU, LOUIS. Up the 2 decks I do and ask the most helpful young lady at the Pursers Desk how she could say the bag would be in my cabin now that Louis had it safely in his hands???!!! All red in the face, she said one can never assume what the airlines would do!!!! Yeah…right!!!!!

My choices were to have Louis take it back to FedEx and have them send it to me for Sunday in NYC, or just be gratefull that it has been found and continue the last 4 days in my borrowed from Stuart clothes. Lets face it, over half the passengers on this ship will be getting off in
CAPTAIN SIGNINGCAPTAIN SIGNINGCAPTAIN SIGNING

OH WELL, iI'll come back later
New York, new ones will embark and who will know the difference….so the heck with it. I’ll stay in Stuart’s clothes (by the way, Stuart, I got 2 compliments on the blue shirt today!!!).

My dining mates and I gave new meaning to gluttony last night. There were so many good things on the menu that the 4 of us ordered 7 appetizers, 6 entrees and 6 desserts….all for “just a taste and washed it all down with wine and champagne. It took us almost 2 and a half hours for dinner (also taking time to tell the waiter dirty jokes) so there is a definite advantage to a one sitting dining room.

There are no cocktail parties tonight. These were really getting to be a habit as I’ve gone to one every night the last 4 nights. I guess its part and parcel of being on a world cruise as well as one of the final transatlantic voyages of the QE2. Also today, I stood in a queue for 1.5 hours to get some QE2 stuff signed by the captain….until I got 6 people away and they had to stop the line so he could give the noon position report. I’ve got a number for 9:30 tomorrow morning to get my stuff signed. Woe be onto anyone who tries to jump my place at #6 !!!!!!

Tea time…………gotta run.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb