BA...we have a problem


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Southampton
January 6th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

….except that my next port is 7 days away

I’m bereft of 80% of my luggage……………………

While at the gate in Baltimore for my 5 hours, I thought I’d check on my luggage. Well,
Sir, she said…..we do have one of your bags and I’m sure the other will be on your flight to London. WRONG !!!! Round and round went the baggage carousel….the little red bag with my suit appeared…but where was the big bag? The one with my tuxedo, my leather sport coat, my dress and casual shirts, my shoes….all my stuff. The baggage office of British Airways was most apologetic…..it seems it did not make the flight…..but just fill out this form and we will deliver it to you as soon as it arrives. Now that is a great policy, except that my ship was sailing in 7 hours and my “next” port was 7 days away!!!!!!!

I called Stuart to tell him that the next bus to Southampton was full and the next one was 2.5 hours away. “Stuff that”, says he “I’ll leave in a couple minutes to fetch you and we’ll sort it all out”. An hour later, he’s in front of Terminal 2 looking desperately for me before they tow his car and we’re on our way back to Southampton. While a wonderful Sunday lunch was cooking, he opened his closet and I picked and tried on shirts, pants, sport coat and something I surely didn’t have…..a thick winter coat. Then it was off shopping for toiletries, pajamas, socks, underwear. Arriving at the ship with my little red suitcase and 4 pieces of overstuffed Puerto Rican luggage (aka plastic bags), Stuart stayed with me and kept me calm until he could go no further and I was alone to go thru security.

After finding my cabin, I went up the the Purser’s desk who really didn’t seem to care that I was without 80% of my luggage. (now this part gets way, way better, but that’s a later blog).

At 5:15 I went out on deck with all the other passengers (again, thanks Stuart for that wonderful coat) where they had about 15 minutes of fireworks ending with the music for Land of Hope and Glory which all the Brits were singing. At the same time, QUEEN VICTORIA slipped her lines and began her slow way past our dock. As the ships were abreast of one another the ships horns were sounded and we all had a great laugh as the QE2’s horn was so deep throated versus the tinny sounding one of QV. I must admit tho, that the ship looked pretty impressive as it sailed past us all lit up.

By 9:30, I had had an excellent dinner and couldn’t keep my eyes open, so, enough was enough and I went to bed.

Next I’ll tell you how the staff of the QE2 really got it together when they realized I was truly in baggage trouble.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb