On the way to QE2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland
January 5th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings and Happy NewYear everyone………………..

Amazing, I only have 2 more hours to kill here at Baltimore Airport!!!! What am I doing here? Well for those of you who don’t know, I am on my way to London/Southampton to board QUEEN ELIZABETH 2 for a January North Atlantic crossing to NYC and then
continue on to…………………………Ft. Lauderdale!!! Doesn’t make sense, does it, but wait….I can justify: it is one of the last crossings of the fabled QE2 (she has been sold to Dubai) and it will be the one and only meeting of QE2, QUEEN MARY 2 and QUEEN VICTORIA in NYC on Jan13 with fireworks and the Statue of Liberty in the background. I hate missing the official grand opening of V. T. Studios on Jan 12, but they will be in business way, way longer than this ship opportunity.

RECOMMENDATION: Do not go anywhere near Miami International Airport on the Saturday after NewYears! I have never seen such a mob scene in my life (well, OK,once when the mounted police of Newport RI drove pushed us out of their city when we were peacefully paving the streets with beer cans during a Jazz Festival…….but I digress) and it took an hour to get checked in for my flights then 45 minutes to get thru security.

So now you know why I am in Baltimore waiting to board a British Airways flight….the flights to London from MIA were full and this is the routing Cunard gave me!

Stay tuned for further updates.

The V. T. Studios roving ambassador.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb