Last Days in Manchester...


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

111

My view of Ricky!
Hiya. Today is our second last day in Manchester, we are off to London on Tuesday. I'll miss the Mancunians and their accents. Londoner accents sound so whiny compared to the Northeners. Oh well i'm looking forward to London all the same, it's going to be great. On Tuesday night we're going to Frank Sidebottom's private art exhibition opening. Free food, drink and of course we get to meet FRANK. Finally. We also have to find jobs in London straight away. We can't actually stay at my cousin Tig's house until the 16th of July, so when we get to London we're staying with a friend of a friend but I have no idea how long she'll let us stay. Sooo we may have to find a youth hostel, which is why we must get a job. We've also gotta do the general touristy thing and Alex, being the psycho that she is, wants to get up at 7AM every morning so she can fit a lot in. Me get up at 7am? Ha. It doesn't get dark till 10:30pm here we have heaps of time.

The past week has been great. And by the past week I mean
222

View from Alderley Edge.
from last Friday onwards. Last Friday we saw Ricky Gervais!!! Alex decided to buy a ticket on the morning of the show. I was about 7 rows from the stage and it was absolutely brilliant, we actually saw Ricky in person! On the weekend we drove to Alderly Edge, a supposed WAG hangout. But no we didn't see any footballers or their girlfriends, but there were a lot of fancy cars everywhere. But we didn't go to Alderly Edge to stalk footballers, as hard as that is to believe, we went on a walk through the woods around the cliff edge the town is named after.

I think on Tuesday we drove to the Lake District (it's hard to keep track of days). We drove through this town called Hawkshead where I swear every person out that day had a dog on a leash with them, and took the car ferry across a lake. The men who ran the car ferry were a little... odd. One of them had one of those moustaches that connects to a beard and the moustache part was dyed. The other had blonde streaks on one side of his head and missing teeth. He
333

Alex in Beatrix Potters garden.
drove the ferry and played western showdown music through the microphone whilst dancing. On the other side of the lake we drove to the town where Beatrix Potter lived which was very cutesy and English. We also drove to a castle by one of the lakes and I tried to pat sheep but they all ran away from me. But one day I swear I will pat a sheep god damnit!

Wednesday we drove to the Peak District. It was cold and rainy that day so we didn't get out of the car much. Though at one point we got out at these moors on the top of one of the peaks and walked to the top. I think at the top that was the coldest I have ever been in my entire life. EVER (see video). It's meant to be Summer here damnit!

Thursday caught the train to Chester and spent the day walking around there. There's an old wall surrounding the centre of the city which we walked around in the rain with no umbrella. The city centre is really nice and the main cathedral is beautiful. Alex and I even found markets and we bought
444

Hiding in the shrubs.
FUDGE. There is fudge stalls everywhere here it's great.

This weekend Nick and Denise have their friends from Cambridge staying at the house too and they brought their dog. So for the weekend I adopted the dog and she is filling the gap my dog left. I miss Squid! Last night Alex and I went out to the city and had a few drinks at the Night and Day Cafe and Dry Bar (previously owned by Factory Records!). That was fun but we couldn't spend much money so we didn't last that long. Plus it was raining and there weren't that many people out, but it was still good.

And now I get up to today. Today we watched Scrubs. The End.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

55
5

Me and the view from the castle.
66
6

At the lake.
77
7

Freezing at the Peak District.
88
8

Chester.
99
9

Alex in the cathedral in Chester.
1010
10

Stained glass window.


2nd July 2007

Rain and the Peak District.
I went to the Peak District once - for nine days of walking. It rained evey single day, all day. I have a photo somehwere of me sitting on my backpack in the doorway of a youth hostel at about 11:00am in the morning (at that stage the country ones didn't open until 2:00pm) soaking wet, dying for a warm shower, with the rain pouring down. I think it was about day 5. I sat in the doorway on my backpac until it opened. Pathetic it was. I remember Chester Catheral too - it was freezing I hope it is fun in London and you have managed to track down Sam. Don't forget to eat a box of Thortons Special Toffee for me Annette
6th July 2007

Hello from Japan
you look like you're having a ball! I like the pictures muchly! Espically the one of Alex peeking out from behind a pillar. Lots of love, see you soon, Nina

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb