The Pit Stop


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 30th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hyde Park - Albert MemorialHyde Park - Albert MemorialHyde Park - Albert Memorial

View from Lunch in the park.
You are now up to date and this is LIVE as of today, July 7th. I've been in london for the past six days. When I originally decided to go on this trip, my friend Mindy's brother Rick told me he would be playing at Wimbledon this year and to let him know if I wanted to go (definitely on my "list to do before you die"). I kept thinking I probably wouldn't go because it didn't make sense to go all the way back up to London from Italy when I had already been there and would be flying home from there. Then I realized one day that I can do whatever I want. There are no "shoulds" in this type of travel. In addition to the great opportunity to go to Wimbledon, it turns out Wendy and Lisa, who I was to meet in Paris on July 7th, would be in London for that whole week and Lisa offered to let me stay at her flat.

So, the "Pit Stop" . . . From the moment I stepped foot off the plane I felt like this trip to London was my "Pit Stop" of my four month trip.
For Proper DogsFor Proper DogsFor Proper Dogs

At Hyde Park. Funny.
To have friendly faces and be surrounded by people from San Francisco and Laguna felt really great. It was the week of maintenance . . . our first night, Wendy, Lisa and I did face masks and hair masks (desperately needed!). I decided a mani/pedi would just be too much of a tease with two months left of my trip and I better not indulge.

I spent three days at Wimbledon which was amazing. I remember summer days growing up watching Wimbledon and now I was here. I always thought when they had rain delays it was cold because it was raining . . . nope, still hot and muggy. I got to see some great matches and enjoyed spending time with Rick, Danny and Hutton.

It turned out another close friend of mine from Chicago, Jennifer, was there with her Mom and two friends to see Wimbledon, so I got to catch up with her too. We all went to this great restaurant, Ffiona's (yes, 2 "f's"), and I loved it so much Wendy, Lisa and I went back last night. In keeping with my "small world" theme of this trip, there was a couple sitting next
Maintenance DayMaintenance DayMaintenance Day

It's the Pit Stop Maintenance!
to us at dinner and the girl was wearing this cute Trina Turk top that I talked my friend Erin into buying at Jennifer Croll (boutique down the street from my house in SF). I hear the couple tell Fiona that if she's ever in SF to look them up and sure enough, it turns out she's a frequent shopper at J. Croll as well and lives just blocks from me in San Francisco.

Tomorrow Wendy, Lisa and I are off to Paris for three days. From there, Lisa will have to go back to work in London, and Wendy and I will take the train down to Provence for six nights. After that I have no plans, so if you have any suggestions on great places to hang out, relax and enjoy the atmosphere (preferable with less tourists) send me an email!

Extra special thank you to Lisa for all her hospitality this last week. From the pull out couch to cooking at home to phone and Internet, you made me feel at home and I truely appreciate it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Dinner at Ffiona'sDinner at Ffiona's
Dinner at Ffiona's

Jenn, Paul, Diane (Jenn's mom to the right of me) and Claudia (Paul's mom).
Wimbledon - Court 1Wimbledon - Court 1
Wimbledon - Court 1

Watching Mauresmo from the shade with Wendy.
The BoysThe Boys
The Boys

Danny and Hutton watching Rick and Ellis's match.
Rain DelayRain Delay
Rain Delay

Amazing how fast they can take the tarps up and down.
Cheering for Dad & RickCheering for Dad & Rick
Cheering for Dad & Rick

Sullivan, Camden and Hutton watching day three.
Round Two at Fiona'sRound Two at Fiona's
Round Two at Fiona's

I had to go back with Lisa and Wendy. So good!
Funny CarsFunny Cars
Funny Cars

This would be a good business in San Francisco.


7th July 2006

Christy--I'm loving your blogs and especially enjoying pictures of you looking happy and beautiful! Don't know what you plan on doing in the South of France, but I have two memorable destinations. Avingnon, which is in the Rhone Valley. If you go here, make sure to go wine tasting in the Rhone Valley (Chateauneuf du Pape wine is from here). If you're heading further south to the riviera, skip Nice and Canne and go STRAIGHT to Cap D'ail, just a walk from Monaco. The beach there is amazing!
7th July 2006

Yo
You should go to Bordeaux. Keep having fun.
8th July 2006

Great travel stories
We have really enjoyed your adventures in Europe. You may have found a new calling as a travel writer,guide and/or photographer. Thanks for sharing your memories of 22 North and our gardens. We visited Bellagio in 2003 and Villa Carlotta and your photos captured it well, especially the lovely Hydrangias. Watch out for the crazy soccer fans in France on Sunday. We are in Sun Valley now and would love to see you here oin your return to SF....all our love...Priscilla and Ranney
12th July 2006

Wow!!!
It's been so wonderful of you to share your trip with us. You definitely should be a travel journalist. The gardens were fabulous. The coleus which I love and I even got to grown in the desert. The hydrangea and calla lilies have always been my favorite. Love gardening and it has to be genetic from Nana. Living in the desert is a little prohibitive for growing my favorites. Don't complain about the heat--it was 115 degrees here in La Quinta and it suppose to continue. Long hot summer. Love you and it has been so much fun traveling with you.
12th July 2006

WOW!
NICE! Wimbledon. Looks like a lot of fun. You loook great too:) That "dog toilet" is hilarious! All dog owners can laugh at that one. I swear, they need those all over NYC!!

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 115; dbt: 0.1045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb