Eurostar Bound to Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 7th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First Night in ParisFirst Night in ParisFirst Night in Paris

WOW, what a sight!
(Ok, so I'm far behind in the blog again, I'll give you the nutshell version to catch you up . . .)

Lisa, Wendy and I arrived in Paris via Eurostar without a hitch. I expected more out of the underwater part of the ride, but it was pretty much like taking Bart from the city to the east bay, uneventful. As our taxi drove us to our hotel and past all the sights, I already knew I wanted to come back. We were staying three nights and I had a feeling I could stay much longer. We arrived at our palatial hotel (not!) and quickly set out to view the Eiffel Tower at night. Magnifique! It is truly amazing.

Our sight seeing began with the Arch de Triomphe. I know my first thought should have been "wow", but it was actually Chevy Chase in European Vacation driving round and round in circles on the roundabout (more on the roundabout subject later). I can only imagine what a nightmare it would be to drive around that area. Later in the afternoon we headed to Ile de la Cite to check out Sainte Chapelle, a beautiful church St. Louis (king
Paris ArrivalParis ArrivalParis Arrival

Via Eurostar. And yes, they are totally cashing in on the Da Vinci Code hype.
Louis IX) built in 1242 to house the Crown of Thorns from Christ which he purchased at that time for £135,000 (outragous at the time as by comparison, the whole building cost £40,000). The stain glass in this building is amazing.

Next up Norte-Dame. Didn't see the Hunchback but did run into a ton of tourists (big suprise), so I went back the next day to actually go inside and climb to the top (gotta keep with the climbing).

After Notre-Dame we landed in Ile St. Louis (St. Louis Island) for some world famous Berthillion Ice Cream (personally, I think the real deal Italian Gelato blows this away but hey, it's still Ice Cream so of course it was good). This little island neighborhood was adorable and would definitely be one of my choices to stay if I came back.

Saturday night was a great treat. Beth Miles was in town on a layover from work (American Airlines) so we went out to dinner at one of her favorite restaurants. It was great to spend time with her and also have dinner with someone who speaks fluent French (tre impressive!)

Sunday we headed off to Montmartre
Our Metro StopOur Metro StopOur Metro Stop

Wouldn't you take public transportation if the entrance looked like this?
(Hill of Martyrs), by far my favorite little area. It’s filled with artists painting and sketching in the square which also has a ton of little cafes. The views are great from the Basilique de Sacre-Coeur located on the top of the hill. We walked around the town, saw the famous Moulin Rouge and the Montmartre Cemetery. I guess there are some famous people buried there but I don’t think we saw any of them.

The Louve - I loved hanging out around the outside of the Louve. It's actually quite peaceful even with people around. I went inside for the speedy tour and saw the Italian Sculptures, French Paintings and the Italian Paintings areas. I thought it was pretty funny that they had the Mona Lisa opposite the largest painting in the Louve, Les Noces de Cana (The Wedding at Cana) by Veronese. Really, really big painting vs tiny, tiny Mona Lisa.

Sunday was also the World Cup Finals - Italy vs France for those that didn't get into it. Since I had spent most of the World Cup in Italy, I was for Italy and yes, they won. Sorry France.

Our trip was short but
Luxury LivingLuxury LivingLuxury Living

No, this is not the Four Seasons!
packed with lots to see. Lisa had to head back to work in London so Wendy and I will head off to Provence next (this kinda sounds current, right??)



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Arc de TriompheArc de Triomphe
Arc de Triomphe

Starting our weekend as "Tourists in Paris".
Eglise du DomeEglise du Dome
Eglise du Dome

Napoleon's tomb is under there.
Glass Pyramid at the LouvreGlass Pyramid at the Louvre
Glass Pyramid at the Louvre

Very cool in person although it's near impossible to get a photo without people in it, so here is a portion.
Notre DameNotre Dame
Notre Dame

Didn't see the Hunchback but lots of tourists.
Notre Dame in ActionNotre Dame in Action
Notre Dame in Action

Mass started just as I was leaving.
Notre Dame - Scary GargoylesNotre Dame - Scary Gargoyles
Notre Dame - Scary Gargoyles

These guys are scary up close!
Notre DameNotre Dame
Notre Dame

One more shot from the top.
The Parisians,  They Start YoungThe Parisians,  They Start Young
The Parisians, They Start Young

Making out in front of Notre Dame.
Dinner with The BethDinner with The Beth
Dinner with The Beth

Yeah, a friend from home who knows the town and can speak french fluently!
Booksellers Along the SeineBooksellers Along the Seine
Booksellers Along the Seine

They have all kinds of old books and collector's items (this Parisian is actually checking out the old Playboys and Centerfold magazines . . . naughty!).
World Cup FinalsWorld Cup Finals
World Cup Finals

The local Butcher the day of the Finals.
A Day in MontmartreA Day in Montmartre
A Day in Montmartre

I LOVE this area! It's where all the artists hang out and near Moulin Rouge and Sacre Coeur. Can't wait to go back.
Montmartre - The ArtistsMontmartre - The Artists
Montmartre - The Artists

Did I say I LOVE this area?!! All the artists are working amongst the cafes. This place is amazing!
Montmartre CemetaryMontmartre Cemetary
Montmartre Cemetary

A kitty visiting it's owner.
So Long ParisSo Long Paris
So Long Paris

Off to Provence!


26th July 2006

francaise
hey christy great to hear that you are doing so well and having fun...when do you come home...looks like treva and i are headed for france and italy end of august..love the blogs....be safe...xoxoxo htn
26th July 2006

Foley! I love these updates!! They are fantastic and I can't wait to travel to some of them in the near future!! Tuscany and an Italian Cooking Class has been one of my dream vacations for a few years now. Great visual and word pictures. I feel like I'm right there with you. Can't wait to see you when you come back to the States.
27th July 2006

You are the coolest
Hello Fa Fa Been reading all of the travel updates and feeling a bit jealous as it sounds like it has been so fabulous. Not quite the same hostel staying, slim fast shake drinking, sleep in train stations voyage that I experienced in our college years! I guess that I'll have to go back now that I have the means to do it right-right after we pay for weddings for 3 daughters! Anyway, we miss you and will be especially sad not to be blessed with your presence at the Mellinger's beach party- we haven't been to it since what might have been the first one in 1996. Bon Voyage, Henny
5th August 2006

J'ADORE PARIS!!!
Looks like fun:) Gosh, your blog updates are sooo fun to read!!

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 20; qc: 113; dbt: 0.1349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb