Family Ties


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 3rd 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

NickNickNick

Him and his tennis partner won the match.
Yesterday I got to stay in Weybridge (about 40 minutes by train outside of London) with my mom´s second cousin. That morning Julia and I took the tube together. She got off to catch her bus back to Oxford and I stayed on for a couple more stops to catch the train to Weybridge. This was the first time I had travelled alone since I had landed in the UK. A little scary and lonely but very liberating.

When I arrived at the Weybridge station my mom´s second cousin was there to pick me up. We drove the short 5 minutes to their house. At the house Uncle Arthur) my grandfather´s cousin and his companion Audrey, John, Di´s husband, and Elise, Di´s niece were there to greet me. We enjoyed a lovely lunch out in the backyard and then raced off to the golf club to watch Di´s brother and Elise´s dad play a tennis match in the tournament finals. It was wonderful to watch tennis again.

Afterwards, Elise and I went back to the house and took a dip in the pool. She asked what games we played at pool parties back home and I responded Marco Polo
Group ShotGroup ShotGroup Shot

Elise, Di, Arthur and Audrey watching tennis at the golf club.
was very popular. She wanted to learn and we played for almost an hour. Later, her dad arrived home from the golf club and joined up for a swim and also got suckered into playing several rounds of Marco Polo. Di, Nick and I enjoyed tea afterwards in one of the cooler parts of the house as it had been the hotest day yet at 33 degrees.

Nick and Elise went home in the early evening and Di and John made a lovely dinner that we enjoyed much later in the evening. They gave me a wonderful bedroom upstairs and I slept very very well.

In the morning we watched BBC Breakfast and caught up with


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Swim PartySwim Party
Swim Party

Elise and I preparing for a nice, cool swim in the pool.
Good-byesGood-byes
Good-byes

Nick and Elise had to head home but not before I had to promise Elise I would be back to visit next year.
Family Decorating Family Decorating
Family Decorating

So, my mom also likes to put pine-cones in a bucket... I guess this confirms we are related.
Relatives HouseRelatives House
Relatives House

Very beautiful home that I was very lucky to spend some time at before heading to Paris.
Hey DGs...Hey DGs...
Hey DGs...

Look! Its Anchor Butter!
Traveling SoloTraveling Solo
Traveling Solo

A picture to capture the excitment of my first traveling day alone.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb