Heathrow Hassles


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 21st 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Can you believe I lost my passport at Heathrow!!!!

I had just got off my British Airways flight and was on my way to customs to go out and get my suitcase. There were HEAPS of people! As I was carrying so much stuff it was hard to rummage through my bags. In the end I got annoyed and got out of the line and literally took everything out of my bags. I tried to stay calm and take everything out methodically but then just kept getting stressed out! I knew I had to take flights to Singapore, then to Sydney, then to Gold Coast. If I didn't I would miss my cousin's wedding!

I called Todd and burst into tears..."I lost my passport!". By this time an African guy at the airport had come up to me trying to console me. He told me to see security as did Todd on the phone. I saw the security guy and he told me to see British Airways. I went to the British Airways counter and they sent someone to the plane to check it. British Airways then told me to see another security counter. I went to that security counter and asked them if a passport had been handed in. One had! He asked my nationality and name and it matched! I was so happy! What a relief!!! They were very nice to me and told me to calm down and that everything was fine now. I guess it must happen a lot.

Back to the customs line I went and picked up my suitcase of the carousel. It was the last one on there! I walked 15 minutes to the Singapore Airlines check-in counter, checked-in and was very thankful I didn't need to pay for excess baggage. I then walked about 20 minutes to Terminal 3 and then another 20 minutes to my departure gate. Seriously...I hate Heathrow! What a horrible setup! I got to my gate thinking there would be food outlets near it but there weren't any! I walked back to the centre of the terminal (20 mins) and bought a sandwhich from Boots Pharmacy. I made it back to the departure gate with minutes to spare. To think I had a 5 hour transit wait in Heathrow!!!! I used it all up!

I thought everything would be fine when I boarded...but then I realised the plane was filled with kids and babies! They were everywhere! Screaming, running, crying! The flight was full and I was seated next to the window with 2 people to my left. In the row in front of me and behind me were kids! They kept grabbing things from my fold out table. Just sleep I thought...just sleep...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb