London Photo Tour -


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 9th 2012
Published: March 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

At the appointed hour we popped up in front of the London Exchange and met our delightful tour guide Corinne. She is actually not a born and bred Londoner but from Australia, and hence why she is in a bright red jacket.

Corinne is the founder and owner of "Hairy Goat Tour Company"http://hairygoat.net/ ...her specialty is she teaches you how to use your camera as you explore London's unique sites. We had so much fun and saw so many interesting places around the Exchange, that we barely noticed the cold, ....well barely.

We walked up and down many side streets and got to hear about the history of the various unique spots she took us to. The exchange area has many little parks and old churches. Some that survived the bombings of WW2 and some that are just ruins with a bit of green garden surrounding them. At this point my battery died in my camera and Corinne led me off to find a camera shop...I raced across the street and bought a new battery only to find out they are not yet charged! So I have no pictures of our remaining tour, ending at the Tower of London. Here we said fond farewell to Corrine and dashed literally into the closest pub to defrost.

Note: my mom and her family came to the US from London just before WW2 broke out and so it was quite interesting to see some of the London sights my family was associated with like Lloyd's of London, etc. At one point I saw on a menu MUSHY Peas and suddenly realized that my grandma didn't just mush her peas because she was weird or old...but that it is a national dish, Mushy Peas! Of course I had to try them with my fish and chips and yep they taste just like peas that had been mashed up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb