London...quite a lovely place.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tigard to the UK


The Chıvalrous HostsThe Chıvalrous HostsThe Chıvalrous Hosts

Chrıs and Nıall...awesome cs hosts at theır favorıte bar
I've been in London for the past five days, and it has been a blast. I've been staying with and English guy (Chris) and an irish guy (Niall) during my trip and they are a blast. The best way to describe them is that they are lovely gentlemen in their mid 20's that enjoy a fine whisky and water after a day of work and a few quips from the Simpsons (perfect for me!) They live in this cool little flat in the Ealing Bourough of London so getting to the center takes less than 20 minutes to the tube. It's that typical little suburb you see on tv.

My flight to London was pretty interesting. I sat next to this man from Bangladesh with a thick accent who was from New York. He kept inviting me to stay in his hotel with him I think he was at least 45, I kept saying to him that I had a boyfriend..... Which is funny because when i was going through my packing list before I jumped on the plane I realized that I forgot my fake wedding ring. But I thought meh no big deal I dont really need it
Afternoon TeaAfternoon TeaAfternoon Tea

What a lovely tıme...too bad ıt set me back almost 20 bucks
till I get to Southern Europe....I was so wrong....so I defnitely went on a fake ring quest in London with success! One lucky thing about this whole mess was that he had the window seat so I convinced him to switch with me and I slept immediatly for the next 5 hours so I wouldn't have to talk to him.

The last few days in London have been about seeing the big sights...the abbey, the London Eye, Buckingham Palace (the queen was having a celebration so there was a ruckus there...and sadly I didn't get to see her or her grandsons 😞

I experienced a traditonal english afternoon tea that set me back twenty dollars. I think I lost weight in London with all my walking around and only eating 3 meals a day... thank god for Subway who does have the 1.99 pd sandwich of the day...still 4 bucks but worth it! Chris and Niall were great hosts for me and it was so funny talking about the work life balance and etc. IE They get 5 weeks vacation a year and nine months maternity leave.... (we are getting so screwed in america) They took me out to fish and chips and then their favorite pub....

World cup madness has hit London hard...I'll be in Berlin soon...I can hardly imagine what it'll be like there....


Sorry for the lack of crazy stories....I'll work on it!

Advertisement



26th June 2006

damn pounds
$20 for afternoon tea...sadly it's reality. I'm sorry. When you are in Berlin, check out a club called Tresor. It's techno madness and may alter your heart beat, but the party goes all night. Glad you've replaced the fake wedding ring. You poor, young, good looking girls have to watch out for so many creeps! -Ben
27th June 2006

It was the queens birthday which is actually in april but they celebrate it in june when it's not all shitty outside... speaking of shitty outside... it hit 102 here today... or 39c should you be in a metric country when reading this. just tell people your boyfriend is big and goofy looking and gets beligerent enough that occasionally people lose their teeth... i'll send you a picture of me should you need more of a threat. more than likely they'll laugh and move on to the next pickup line. sounds like good times. i want a crazy ass story tho.
27th June 2006

cheeriooooo
hey jeanie, good to see you're having a jolly-good time in the old country. you gonna go to wimbledon? andy
30th June 2006

$20 for afternoon tea?
Shit girl that ain't nuttin, i spend that on afternoon beer at Taylors like 3 days a week...miss ya!
22nd August 2006

thanks for saying you visited me...jerk

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb